New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    It did not work.

    I created the preference: browser.selfsupport.url and set it to blank and didnt work. I did it sandboxed and did not restart the browser. I am going to try it again but I ll restart Firefox this time and see what happens.

    Bo
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I got the annoying survey even after restarting Firefox. Look, Does the preference looks as you got yours?

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I think I see the mistake. Instead of blank do "" like this:

    2018-02-09_203137.png
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    OK, I ll try: "" instead of blank

    Bo
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Hope you restart the browser. :cautious:
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I think its going to work this time. The instructions said "leave it blank", but what I had done was set the value to blank :D. Anyway, its been about a minute since last restart and haven't seen the annoying strip.

    Thanks

    Bo
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    YES!!! :thumb: You're welcome! Take care.
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Well... it actually stated "set it to a blank value" thus "" ;) It's an HTML thing. :D
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Good to know, for next time. :)

    Bo
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Bookmark it Bo! :isay:
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,168
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ I do not find < browser.selfsupport.url > or < extensions.shield-recipe-client.enabled >

    Edit: I do find < extensions.shield-recipe-client.enabled > in new default profile.
    I do not find < browser.selfsupport.url > in new default profile.
    YMMV
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2018
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Consider yourself lucky! :D
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    You can always add it, in case you don't want to find Heartbeat messages later. ;)
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,168
    Location:
    .
    Okay #1954 Thanks
    I have in my daily profile: Shield Recipe Client = Disable via CCleaner
    2479.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2018
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi bjm, if you need to create the preference is easy to do. As you can see by what I wrote yesterday, the poll was driving me crazy, creating and setting up the preference correctly took care of that thing for good. FWIW, I also have extensions.shield-recipe-client.enabled but left that one alone.

    Bo
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Same here.
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,168
    Location:
    .
    Yes, I can create n' setup the preference.
    2480.png
    I'm curious to see whether I receive the poll with Shield Recipe Client = Disable via CCleaner and since I do not find < browser.selfsupport.url > or < extensions.shield-recipe-client.enabled > in my new daily profile, since Firefox 58. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2018
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,641
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    For Shield you can try disabling this option in settings:
    upload_2018-2-10_23-1-21.png
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,168
    Location:
    .
  23. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,641
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    Yes, that is even better :)
     
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  25. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,156
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.