New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,540
    hey alpha-kevin - every browser is borked for you - in special firefox, why dont you stop spamming threads with that futile information?
    go any browser but not firefox and quit please, annoying whiner
     
  2. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Toronto
    After updating to V56.0 I couldn't see the Flyers for grocery stores.
    The sites load but the pictures don't.
    I can use IE and Vivaldi and can view the Flyers but would prefer to use FF.
    Has anyone had the same problem and found a resolution?

    The problem was NoScript V 5.0.12 (which had other issues as well).
    Even after Removing NS, I couldn't see the Flyers.

    The solution was to backup my bookmarks, create a new Profile, import my bookmarks and install most other addons which were all flagged as "Legacy" i.e. not FF V57 compatible.
    I did a test by installing NS, = no flyers, remove NS and flyers again visible.

    During this I found that a few more addons were no longer available (and they may never be).

    J
     
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,540
    maybe you should report that issue to the NS developer - he is receptive for suggestions and feedback.
     
  4. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Toronto
    I did that immediately after finishing my testing, you can check my post as APraxis.
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
  7. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,053
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, coming through the internal updater now :thumb:
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Confirmed: As stated in the link, "Firefox will not attempt to migrate 32-bit users running version 56.0.1 or later!".

    I just upgraded my 32 bits version of Firefox to 56.0.2 from within Firefox in my W10 64 bits, there was no attempt to migrate my installation to 64 bits. :)

    Bo
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Bo, yes, no forceful attempt to migrate. Even the Beta Download page has 32-bit versions.

    Although my 64-bit version, so far, it's excellent, Mozilla is going slow with the conversion. :)
     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,980
    Location:
    USA
    I was updating a PC with 32 bit Firefox and the internal updater said it was up to date though it was not. Going to their downloads page and trying to update there downloaded the 64 bit version though it appeared it was updating the existing install. When it was done it left both on the PC. :(
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hopefully they dont go back on those worfd. When I updated to 56.0.1, I did it over the top. But now that I used the updater, I was prepared if they migrated my installation to 64 bits, to clean install Firefox and reinstall the 32 bits version. If they had migrated my Firefox, that's what I would be doing right now.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2017
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    When I updated over the top to 56.0.1, all I did was the normal procedure of making sure the folder selected was Program files (x86). There was nothing suspicious with the process. All was as usual.

    Bo
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,980
    Location:
    USA
    I didn't catch the directory was wrong or I would have cancelled. When it said it was going to update I didn't pay enough attention because it was not what I expected.
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,540
    "3.0 is crap" - several statements about.
    even uBlock had earned several bashing but this is a total fail.
    to be expected...
     
  17. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am not using adblockers right now but I been testing ABP today, it feels decent, better than last time I had it. As of right now, it passes my test :). I noticed the new version don't give the option to backup and recover settings, hopefully that option becomes available in the future.

    Bo
     
  18. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    As Adblock Plus stated in the referenced link: "The options page is not a native dialog but a web page now. It should be easier to use, but it is lacking much of the functionality that Firefox users got used to. We plan to add more functionality to it in future." Hopefully, that functionality will be restored soon. :doubt:
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats a good link, J R. I read it and the comments. For a new beginning, I think ABP has done a very good job. Eventually, the option is probably going to be available. If is not, to me that wouldnt be a big deal. I tested (sandboxed) ABP yesterday and again today, other than that is pretty much what it used to be. In my opinion, ABP deserves praise, not insults like the ones some people posted in that link.

    Bo
     
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,167
    The latest version of Xmarks seems to be a disaster. Features were removed, syncing is buggy, etc.:
     
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    It OK Bo. Those of us who use it know that ABP has always been good. Now, if NoScript gets out of Legacy status soon, life would be great. ;) :)
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    NoScript is going to be fine. I am testing it right now (Of course, installed in a sandbox :D), just have to follow the instructions under "Development version".
    https://noscript.net/getit

    ns.jpg

    Bo
     
  23. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Not running the Development version; that's good to know. :thumb:
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Me neither, I am just testing the future version of NoScript (with no harm done to my installed Firefox 56.0.2). By the way, Settings and interface has not changed, it looks as in the past.

    Bo
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,230
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Using Firefox Sync now, which means I can't sync to Chrome, etc. but no big deal. Basically only use Firefox anyway.

    Edit: Also Waterfox and Cyberfox, FF Sync works with those too.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2017
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.