New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, too slow or too asleep. :ouch:
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I'll keep an eye out for any new update rate news.
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks JR. It looks like a low priority update for my Win10 (64-bit) machines anyway, I'm already using FF (64-bit). I could always download the installer I guess.
     
  4. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Toronto
    After updating to V56.0 I cannot see Flyers for grocery stores.
    The sites load but the pictures don't.
    I can use IE and view the Flyers but would prefer to use FF.
    Has anyone had the same problem and found a resolution?
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Updated NoScript to version 5.1.2 in Firefox 56.0.1 (64-bit) today, and the icon disappeared next to the Search bar. The only way to get the icon back is to use the direct download link from this page: https://noscript.net/getit. However, once Firefox is closed, the icon disappears again. Has anyone else running NoScript encounter the same issue?
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    .
    Yes, I tried over-install with no joy..., then tried clean install..., clean install worked for me (so far).
    Icon is back... NoScript 5.1.2 on Firefox 56.0.1 (32-bit).
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/noscript/
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Does the icon remain visible after restarting Firefox?
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    .
    Yes, clean install worked for me (so far).....tested several restarts and just tested again.
    I saw what you saw... that upon browser cycle. Icon was gone.
    Icon is back and also remains visible after restarting Firefox.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    That's a bummer! I have severely tweaked NoScript, and a clean install is not an option. Maybe a new update that fixes the icon issue will come soon.

    Thanks for checking!
     
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    .
    Export before clean install, just in case. My clean install did not affect settings or whitelist.
    By clean install. I meant disable all, cycle, remove, cycle, install, cycle to test. YMMV
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I updated NoScript, got same icon disapering after update to 5.12 issue. I see other people reporting the same in comments in NoScript addon webpage.

    bjm, I tried uninstalling and reinstalling, and still got same results. If you really want a sort of clean install of NoScript, you need to delete folder "{73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}" in browser-extension-data folder inside your Firefox Profile folder. Thats where NoScript is keeping its Settings now.

    I ll play with this later using a new Firefox profile. As of now, I went back to 5.11.

    Bo
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,540
    seems that firefox 56 is blowing a lot of profiles (mine included). latest clippings 5.5 is another crap candidate.
    i skipped v56 complete, makes no sense to get gray hair for nuts.
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    .
    Okay, so my way is not "true clean install". So far 5.1.2 is working. Just me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    And here's the kicker. After restarting Firefox a couple of times, now the icon stays visible. Go figure! :rolleyes:
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, NoScript updated here and the icon is MIA now.

    A discussion on their forums here.

    https://forums.informaction.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=23388
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,344
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Starting FF in Safe Mode, then closing and re-opening FF seems to have done the trick.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Good find, Krusty. It worked for me.

    Bo
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Exactly. If you want NoScript not to remember Settings after uninstalling/reinstalling, that folder has to be deleted. If you delete it, after reinstalling NoScript, it gets created again.

    In an earlier post you mentioned Exporting Settings for backup. Thats a good idea bjm. I always do.

    Bo
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    .
    ~ the Date modified time stamp for {73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232} is around the time I ran manual NoScript update.
    Yes, I did Export before I did my version of clean install.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    58,810
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Mine is still visible after a few restarts, not in Safe Mode though. Keeping fingers crossed. :cautious:
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    The storage file inside that folder gets modified every time you open Firefox, but since you are running Firefox sandboxed, the changes are captured inside the sandbox. Navigate to the file inside the Sandbox folder in C via a regular Windows explorer or via the Sandboxie UI while running sandboxed, and you ll see the modified file with the time stamp from last time you opened Firefox. :)

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    .
    Yeah, time stamp is was around the time I ran manual NoScript update (outside sandbox). Now, time stamp is current after starting (outside box). I restarted a few times to test after update snafu... so, probably 'time' was last time I tested (outside box). Thanks
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  24. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    787
    I have been using firefox 57 and like it a lot. Much faster than previous versions.

    You can get ff 57 to open bookmarks into tabs by changing the following value in about:config from false to true:

    browser.tabs.loadBookmarksInTabs;true
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,401
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What is that supposed to do? Are you talking about the bookmarks manager? For me FF57 is completely unusable, they should really take a look at all of the settings that Vivaldi provides. It's a shame that after all these years FF still doesn't offer these features out of the box.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.