New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Updated to FF 40.0.3 and it's working well. And since I updated Palemoon also and with both browsers working well it's like I'm torn between 2 lovers.:D
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    JRViego, Thanks for the reminder. I am aware, but always flinch for a second when I see the title.
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    twl845, you're welcome! Don't flinch... go ahead... make your day. ;) Take care.
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  5. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,412
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Hi JR, thanks, still seeing v38.2.0 here at the moment.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Dermot7, yes, that's correct for the moment.

    Because the FTP server (which we don't want to link to here) is showing that version as being available, if you use ESR versions, go ahead and try the Internal Updater. It should download the new version. Let us know.
     
  7. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,412
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thanks for that info JR :thumb: I must confess that I've an even earlier ESR version here, and will probably update it as you advise. All the best :) Dermot
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,848
    hi

    is there a way to add an exception for a site and exclude it from Unwanted Software Protection (powered by google?)


    thanks
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,894
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    mantra, because the sites' list resides with Google not Firefox, this is the only method to get a site Removed From The Lists. The only option you have with Firefox is to uncheck Block Reported Attack Sites, however, the browser will no longer be protected against malware sites, and/or unwanted software sites. I don't recommend this action.

    Re: Expanded Malware Protection in Firefox.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,848
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    mantra, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  14. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    h5bk9Y5.png

    Mozilla Firefox v41.0
    Released: SEPT 22 2015

    What's new in Firefox 41.0:
    • Enhance IME support on Windows (Vista +) using TSF (Text Services Framework)
    • Ability to set a profile picture for your Firefox Account
    • Firefox Hello now includes instant messaging
    • SVG images can be used as favicons
    Changed
    • Type 2 Add-ons (Extensions) that have not been signed by Mozilla will be disabled by default. Read more about Add-on signing in Firefox
    • WebRTC now requires perfect forward secrecy
    • WARP is disabled on Windows 7
    • Memory overhead of AdBlock Plus has been greatly reduced
    • Updates to image decoding process
    • Support for running animations of 'transform' and 'opacity' on the compositor thread
    HTML5
    • MessageChannel and MessagePort API enabled by default
    • Added support for the transform-origin property on SVG elements
    • CSS Font Loading API enabled by default
    • Navigator.onLine now varies with actual internet connectivity (Windows and Mac OS X only)
    • Copy/Cut Web content from JavaScript to the OS clipboard with document.execCommand("cut"/"copy")
    • Implemented Cache API for querying named caches that are accessible Window, Worker, and ServiceWorker
    Developer
    • Removed support for binary XPCOM components in extensions, use addon SDK "system/child_process" pipe mechanism for native binaries instead
    • Network requests can be exported in HAR format
    • Quickly add new CSS rule with New Rule button in the Inspector
    • Screenshot a node or element from markup view with the Screenshot Node context menu item
    • Copy element CSS rule declarations with the Copy Rule Declaration context menu item in the Inspector
    • Pseudo-Class panel in the Inspector
    • View HTML source in a tab
    Fixed
    • Picture element does not react to resize/viewport changes

    Direct Download: Firefox 41.0 for Windows | Fully Localized Versions
    More Info:
    Release Notes
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Mozilla Firefox ESR 38.3.0 released September 22, 2015:
    Extended Support Release | ESR Overview.
    Release Notes for Firefox ESR 38.3.0.
    Download Firefox Extended Support Release in Your Language.
    Security Advisories for Firefox ESR 38.3.0.

    Also, Mozilla Firefox ESR, Portable Edition 38.3.0 (web browser) Released for the PA Platform, courtesy of PortableApps.com.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2015
  17. Techwiz

    Techwiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    541
    Location:
    United States
    Firefox 41 removes plugins.enumerable_names; from the about:config

    Anyone using the plugin to block enumeration should notice that it no longer works, even if you add this back to the config. At present, the only way to prevent enumeration that I'm aware of is to change plugin.default,state from 1 to 0; effectively disabling plugins by default.
     
  18. Kobayashi maru

    Kobayashi maru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Drivin' all night my hands wet on the wheel....
    plugins.enumerable_names has no value except a star on ESR 38.21 on my setup. If I use Random Agent Spoofer to disable the setting, it becomes bold with no value. Is it non-functional already?

    Edit: https://github.com/dillbyrne/random-agent-spoofer/issues/283

    Plugin detection still requires javascript, so NoScript will still do the job on any site you meet on random surfing.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  19. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,171
    @Techwiz: Thanks for pointing this out.

    @Kobayashi maru:https://mxr.mozilla.org/mozilla-esr38/source/modules/libpref/init/all.js#2309
    Code:
    // A comma-delimited list of plugin name prefixes matching plugins that will be
    // exposed when enumerating navigator.plugins[]. For example, prefix "Shockwave"
    // matches both Adobe Flash Player ("Shockwave Flash") and Adobe Shockwave
    // Player ("Shockwave for Director"). To hide all plugins from enumeration, use
    // the empty string "" to match no plugin names. To allow all plugins to be
    // enumerated, use the string "*" to match all plugin names.
    pref("plugins.enumerable_names", "*");
    
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    Firefox 41 feels same.
    Norton Toolbar disabled due to > Removed support for binary XPCOM components in extensions.
     
  21. Kobayashi maru

    Kobayashi maru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Drivin' all night my hands wet on the wheel....
    Thank you. :)

    The feature checks google for the sites you visit and is a privacy/tracking issue.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  22. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  23. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,848
    hi
    with v41 i got a new icon pocket o_O
    i guess they added in v41 in my native language
     
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    72,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    mantra, Pocket was originally introduced with Firefox's Version 38.0.5. Perhaps you are seeing it now because of your native language addition.
     
  25. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.