New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,893
    i cannot reproduce your problem. this may because i dont use firefox in sandboxie. sandboxed firefox read out two states, not one. the problem is not firefox, its your config around. i can tell you for sure that firefox act as expected here. and ofc if you delete cookies in the shown dialog you also delete storage for that page. hint: do not delete only 24h, delete all. (ctrl+shift+del)
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    86,045
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,893
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    86,045
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    86,045
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,836
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know what they did to 107.0.1 but it is freezing on me again. Haven't had any issues since 104.x.x.
     
  7. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,512
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    There will be a fix in Firefox 108, but I cannot say if it's the same issue you see.
    'Firefox window randomly freezes'
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1781167#c107 -->
    https://hg.mozilla.org/releases/mozilla-beta/rev/4e82f05470f1
    That fix is in Firefox 108 Beta 8, already.
    https://twitter.com/firefoxbeta/status/1597795745041727495?s=20&t=uga74Ht2pT5Ln-TPyDijFA -->
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/buglis...01021,1801244,1801360,1801459,1801690,1801956
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,836
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, maybe I'll go ahead and install that. I don't do anything critical with it on this PC anyway.
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,893
    that is linux only.
     
  10. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,364
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    107.0.1 on my Mac screwed up my LastPass Drop down Menu from the Bookmark Toolbar.
    107.0.1 on my Win 10 has no problems, LastPass is working correctly, just the Mac is screwed up.
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,893
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    86,045
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  13. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,512
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Do you mean Firefox bug 1781167?
    For a long time, it seemed to be Linux only, but later it got clear that also some macOS and Windows OS users are affected. See details in the bugzilla 1781167 thread.
     
  14. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    86,045
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Can confirm same behavior with my version.
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,836
    Location:
    USA
    In turn I can confirm that the 108 beta ( currently beta 8 ) fixed it for me if you don't mind running a beta.
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    86,045
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Will have to wait until Dec 13th, because version 107.0.1 is my workhorse. Thanks for the verification though. :thumb:
     
  17. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,893
    status has not been changed to windows, whatever Susan wrote (forget the catalina guy with OS EOL since 2019 - old OS > no mercy).

    if this would be also a windows issue i would have read about in the german firefox forum, but there is nothing - its the greatest german firefox community.
     
  18. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,512
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    OK, thanks, perhaps I got too carried away by what Markus Stange [:mstange] wrote, about it being a cross-platform issue:
    "With a random-duration sleep() in the right place I was able to reproduce this relatively easily on macOS. So this is really a cross-platform issue which just depends on (un)lucky thread scheduling."
     
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,323
    Nice. Did you just install it over the top?
     
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,836
    Location:
    USA
    Yep. And it updated to beta 9 today. And next week I will install the RC over the top of that to get back on the release channel.
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,323
    Thanks I just installed over the top. Nice. You may have to remind me as Firefox is not my default browser any longer.
     
  22. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,893
    final will be released on -12-13 (onto 13th of dec)
     
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,836
    Location:
    USA
  24. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,323
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,836
    Location:
    USA
    I will have to say that despite the 108.x.x betas/RC being more stable then 107.0.1, it still seems less stable then 105.x.x through 107.0.0. They obviously broke something and I think it still needs work. It does not freeze up like 107.0.1 but it does become unresponsive at times on sites that are fine on Edge. That said I can close it unlike 107.0.1 where I had to actually kill it.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.