New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,859
    Thanks for the list Dave! Cheers! Yeah wonder what it looks like on Ubuntu?

    EDIT: @mantra Using browser.compactmode.show in about:config is what worked for me to get compact mode back on my FF version 89.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2021
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    69,630
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    mantra, you're welcome! Take care and stay safe.
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    69,630
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Well, I for one, love the changes in appearance. Especially the highlighted and slightly rounded tabs, and the new icons look more modern. I use a theme (marble something or other) and it works well with that. I can see myself using firefox more after the recent implementation of site isolation, and now the better UI.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,320
    Location:
    Canada
    Latest v89 wants to connect to Google, UDP, port 443:

    Code:
    | Firefox | C:\program files\mozilla firefox\firefox.exe | Block | Out | 192.168.x.x | 59411 | 142.251.33.106 | 443 | UDP |
    Code:
    NetRange:       142.250.0.0 - 142.251.255.255
    CIDR:           142.250.0.0/15
    NetName:        GOOGLE
    NetHandle:      NET-142-250-0-0-1
    Parent:         NET142 (NET-142-0-0-0-0)
    NetType:        Direct Allocation
    OriginAS:       AS15169
    Organization:   Google LLC (GOGL)
    RegDate:        2012-05-24
    Updated:        2012-05-24
    Ref:            https://rdap.arin.net/registry/ip/142.250.0.0
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    69,630
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,859
    Noticed this on Reddit

    https://old.reddit.com/r/firefox/comments/nq820g/why_is_firefox_running_in_macos_suddenly_getting/
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,973
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Oh cool! Firefox 89 supports HTTP/3 already?!?
     
  9. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,556
    Location:
    Outer space
    Don't have much problems with the new UI. 2 annoyances though: I never used any themes, just the default light theme. The new one is a little to bright for my taste. The new highlighted tabs take up more space, leaving less space for the actual webpage on screens with not so high resolution.
     
  10. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,392
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I expected not to like it, but it's :thumb: with compact mode (still) and system theme, which is dark. No problem with new tabs, iconless menu, etc.
     
  11. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Thanks for that information.
    I wonder how 89 will look like on Kubuntu (not offered yet).
    With Firefox 88 and earlier on Kubuntu, I disabled the useless Title Bar above the tabs. That resulted in very dark tabs with the default theme (may be a bug/oversight in the implementation in Kubuntu). Therefore I used the light theme, which looked great. I wonder what 89 will look like on Kubuntu, which theme I'll need.
     
  12. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,021
  13. stvs

    stvs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    greece
    hi the firefox 89.0 shows a crashed tab inside sandboxie 5.22(old) because i dont want win 7 new patches so my win 7 sp1 is old too
    any solution? until firefox 88.0.1 was fine
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've found opening new tabs that the page often does not fully load and needs a refresh to display properly.
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,609
    Location:
    USA
    It looks pretty much the same as it does on Windows 8 and Server 2012, etc.
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,021
    get a current windows and sandboxie and your problems may be solved.
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,007
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2021
  18. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1,398
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    Just clarification: v88 from stable/release channel had http/3 support disabled by default. You had to manually change network.http.http3.enabled property to true in about:config to change behavior. v89 has http/3 enabled by default.
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,021
    beta got final yesterday ;) QUIC was announced for v88 but they moved it to v89 because of issues i think/guess (not the first time they moved a new feature). Not sure if it is important on a desktop computer but on android I really appreciate it (using nightly because of extensions)
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,587
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You're welcome. I'll have to wait and see with Ubuntu as it hasn't updated yet.
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,587
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    A screenshot would be nice lol.
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,609
    Location:
    USA
    My mistake, I thought my Ubuntu VMs had the update but apparently not. If you'll settle for a Mint screenshot...
    Screenshot from 2021-06-02 11-16-20.png
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,587
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Thanks. I don't know why Canonical are a bit behind. I'll fire up my Ubuntu laptop in a bit and see if it updates Firefox.
     
  24. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,859
    It looks minty fresh lol. Thanks Jack!
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,609
    Location:
    USA
    I'm not sure how long they'll lag behind but I booted up VMs of 20.04 and 21.04 and checked for updates and neither one had it yet.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.