New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I see some comments recently about difficulty accessing certain websites with Firefox. Typically these comments revolve around the use of certain extensions.

    I have been using Firefox for more than a decade but I am close to giving-up on it.

    Starting a couple of versions ago I have daily have been unable to access various websites. At the same time I am able to access these same websites with Chrome. I am not using any extension in Firefox that I am not using in Chrome.

    What I find more strange is that my ability to access websites seems to vary with the time of day. Websites I can not access in the morning, I am usually able to access later in the day.
     
  2. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Dubai
    Google Chrome FTW! I've been a Firefox fanboy since v3 but ditched it once they destroyed the UI with their constant so called upgrades which IMO are just bloat. Plus, if you have an Android device, the synchronization of passwords/bookmarks is seamless because the mobile version of Firefox is horrible, just try finding your bookmarks one a mobile phone and you'll know what I mean
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,753
    Location:
    USA
    In most cases there were missing elements on web pages. Things that didn't display or didn't respond when clicked on.
     
  4. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
    @deugniet
    hi
    well nice , many routers doesn't use the https to login
    thanks!
     
  5. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    149
    with firefox 80 everything now works like it should-no more second clicks
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,081
    I never had, could be extension made!? Mouse with 3 buttons? I have read something similar before but I forgot if it was caused by mouse driver or by a Firefox pref which is not set by default.

    BTW the latest changes for the throbber are based on this one
    https://developer.paciellogroup.com...ers-reduced-motion-and-puzzled-windows-users/

    The animated throbber changes when basic animations in windows or other OS are switched. And some more before we probably never noticed.

    Anyhow, everybody is free to use a browser which fit his/her needs at its best, no need to rant - I can tell you a lot of disadvantages for chrome/chromium but this does not matter.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,931
    Good to hear. Thanks for the follow up.
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,735
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,417
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Hmm ... looks like you are right.

    Could never figure out what it was 'under the hood' in v79. Could only open certain links in private window.
    No extension (new profile), not ETP either. Only some links, sites it seems.
     
  10. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,325
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Firefox update to Version 80.0 I lost "Save Image As" on macOS Catalina. I get "Download Failed".
    I also can't download documents from my Credit Union or any other website. All was working before the update.
    No problem with Chrome.
     
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,735
    Schedule Update (August 27, 2020)
     
  12. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    558
    Location:
    South Park, CO
    FF 80.0 grayed out my DoH settings, which I had to manually re-enable from about:config. Other than that, no problems.
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
    hi
    just weird why ff 80 shows an hourglass when i open a website on windows 10 , while it doesn't show under w7?
    thanks
     
  14. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,024
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
  16. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,024
  17. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
    hi @deugniet
    i have set 0 , and it disapeared , with 1 i will come back
    but is ui.prefersReducedMotion present on default firefox?
    i'm asking because i did on my comptuer but i don't remember if i had to create a new one or not ,just for the computer at work , they all use firefox
    thanks
     
  18. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,024
    User preferences
    For Firefox, the reduce request is honoured if:.
    • In Firefox about:config: Add a number preference called ui.prefersReducedMotion and set its value to 1. Changes to this preference take effect immediately.
     
  19. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,325
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Found the culprit causing this problem. Malwarebytes Browser Guard Extension. :)
     
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
    hi
    now it's all clear ,sorry sometime I use google translator and it's not the best
    thanks deugniet
     
  21. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,735
    Mozilla Firefox 80.0.1 (available via Internal Updater - 5.09 MB - 64-bit) Released (September 1, 2020)
    Release Notes
    Download (Choose which Firefox Browser to download in your language)
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,735
  23. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,735
    Schedule Update (September 1, 2020)
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,753
    Location:
    USA
    Has anyone else had issues with Bing image search turning to a black page using Firefox? I have repeated the issue on multiple PCs so I assume it isn't just me. Refreshing it fixes it for a few seconds, then it does it again. I don't know if it's a Bing issue or a Firefox one.
     
  25. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    71,395
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.