New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,598
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the suggestion but I have found that to be an unreliable fix. The installer actually can reset the permissions. It's not worth the ongoing effort.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,859
    Yeah it is an ongoing battle. I have to redo this at least once a month or so.
     
  3. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,392
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :) Thought of that. I am currently using ISP-provided DNS servers but tried several others (Quad9, Cloudflare, NextDNS, etc.) using DNSJumper. No change.
    DoH is not enabled in FF.

    It is primarily happening to me with links from within some Gmails messages - and not always. I think it is somehow cookie, tracking related. Opening in private window, or new container tab works ... it's just I never had this issue before FF79 (and switching off ETP doesn't make a difference).
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2020
  4. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    no problem. yeah, gets reset with every update unfortunately.
     
  5. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    i see. i hope it gets fixed with the new update. :thumb:
     
  6. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,398
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    This one is a bit disturbing.

    Ever since I upgraded to Win 10 2004, I am receiving the following access violation when I access my bank's web site. It also appears this is something Windows related blocking something in FF. The disturbing part is this only occurs on my bank's HTTPS web site. I use Eset's banking protection when accessing the bank web site which disables all add-ons. So those are not the issue. If I access the bank's web site outside of Eset banking protection, the same access violation occurs. Therefore, Eset is not the issue.

    Anyone else having this happen using FF on Win 2004 with their bank's web site?
     
  7. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    No problem here connecting to bank website with RR 79.0 in Sandboxie and Win 10 2004.
     
  8. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,398
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I guess I should have clarified I am having zip connectivity issues with my bank's web site. So the posted Event log entry w/access denied is not impacting that.

    I really appears to me, the bank web site is blocking certain FF access activity. What that is and why is the mystery.
     
  9. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    is "controlled folder access" enabled in wd? if yes, try disabling it and see if it makes any difference.
     
  10. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,392
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Seems like you were right all along @imdb, DDG is involved. o_O:isay:

    Changed search engine from DDG to Google and links open normally, maybe Container Tabs then see Gmail and Google in same container, but separation is respected for DDG?
    But then change search engine back to DDG and links still open OK! :cautious: (previously only via right-click 'New private window').

    To be clear I am using DDG Privacy Essentials add-on, and disabling the extension previously made no difference, or even another profile.

    The mystery continues; with DDG add-on, looks like there is some interaction at the browser / search engine level, possibly in conjunction with Container Tabs (and ETP?) ... even across profiles? :confused:

    Edit: If I switch to another profile with just password manager add-on, link won't open again, unless in private window, Google or DDG as search engine.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2020
  11. monkeylove

    monkeylove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    117
    I think for Decentraleyes or LocalCDN, you can just turn it off for the website and it will load fine.
     
  12. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,398
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I am not using WD but Eset Internet Security.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,028
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Here is what is new and changed in Firefox 80.0
    https://www.ghacks.net/2020/08/25/here-is-what-is-new-and-changed-in-firefox-80-0/
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,598
    Location:
    USA
    I'm going to second this. If you are using any add-on such as these get rid of them. Nothing but trouble. Regardless of whether or not they are related to this specific problem.
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,028
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've been using Decentraleyes and never had any problem with it on any sites.
     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,598
    Location:
    USA
    If you like it don't let me stop you from using it but after some testing in the office we found that it caused issues with multiple websites, including our own. We did not feel that there was any benefit to working around the issue.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,028
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Firefox 80 is live and available from the internal updater.
     
  18. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    69,574
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  19. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    Can you say more about the issues you experienced? I've been using DecentralEyes for a while and I do occasionally have problems with some websites but I can't connect them to the extension.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
  20. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    991
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
  21. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,432
    Mozilla Firefox ESR 78.2.0 Released (August 25, 2020)
    Release Notes
    Download (Choose which Firefox Browser to download in your language)
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,432
    Mozilla Firefox ESR 68.12.0 Released (August 25, 2020)
    Release Notes
    Download (Choose which Firefox Browser to download in your language)
     
  23. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    530
    Location:
    South Park, CO
  24. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,840
    hi
    what does it mean ? what i can enable or disable via prefences - privacy ?
    i haven't still upgrade it
    thanks
     
  25. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    991
    @mantra

    In Firefox 80:

    Open about:config
    Search for browser.preferences.exposeHTTPSOnly
    Set this to True
    Then Options > Privacy & Security and scroll to bottom
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.