New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,928
    I may go back to portable for awhile. Too many issues with this current build. How are the beta builds of Firefox?
     
  3. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    you can't disable telemetry in beta. other than that it's all fine.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,746
    Location:
    USA
    In most cases they're more of what you don't like about the release builds. I wait until they hit RC before I even consider it. Unless you are just testing of course.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,928
    Yeah just looking to test. Another problem I am having on both Firefox and Chredge for that matter. Highlight some text within a web page. Right click to search on your search engine of choice. Boom, nothing happens or even opens. It is weird. I am now back to Chrome for my daily driver sadly.
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,746
    Location:
    USA
    In that case it may be too late to ask but does that problem still occur if you run Firefox in safe mode?
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    @Trooper
    i'm on portable, mind you, i don't have any of those issues.
     
  8. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I seem to notice that some of the recently mentioned issues affect Firefox on Windows, but not on Linux. Or am I mistaken? I don't recognize mentioned issues. Or perhaps I haven't tweaked it enough to break it. ;)
    Even better, on Windows, Firefox crashed most times when closing, on Kubuntu I never had that issue.
    But that doesn't help you on Windows, of course.
     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    Heh, anyone have this issue? With the latest version, 79.0, two websites give me a message that the version of my browser is outdated and unsupported, please update to the latest browser version to make sure our site functions correctly (words to that effect) ... but the latest version is what I am using. The sites appear to work ok anyway. Also, I took my system "back in time" twice using recovery software. Version 78 was working just fine at those sites, but all three times using 79.0 I am getting that message. Looking forward to version 80.0 to fix things.
    Thanks for any and all replies, Acadia

    EDIT: Oh, forgot to mention, those two website are AOL and Yahoo, only when I go into my email.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2020
  10. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    I just now checked both websites in general and both emails.
    I have to grieve you, unfortunately I have no similar problems.
    Try to find a solution to this problem in your system,
    it is not related to Firefox 79.0.
     
  11. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    could be related to an extension or modified pref. are you using any content blockers or privacy extensions? are 3rd party scripts disabled in your ff profile (globally or per site)?
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2020
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,928
    Really? Do you have no extensions or anything?
     
  13. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    i have multiple separate profiles, with and without extensions; all but one on latest stable build and one on beta. none of them have any issues.
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,746
    Location:
    USA
    I'm not on portable, but also not having any issues, or at least any that affect me.
     
  15. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    Bingo, you nailed it IMDb, thank you. I have three extensions on my Firefox and all three needed updating. I have no idea which one was causing it but once I updated all three, everything is working fine, thanks again.
    Acadia
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
    hi
    the new firefox version 79 without a reason sometime start with , is there a way to disable it?
    there is the screenshot

    https://i.imgur.com/VfCBrY9.png
     
  17. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    you're welcome, acadia. :thumb:
     
  18. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
  19. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,417
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    My erratic and intermittent link / tab opening issues (as also experienced by @Trooper, @topo) are back. :rolleyes:

    If I have to use another browser (Edge, Vivaldi?) to get around this I may end up ditching Firefox, after being a loyal user since inception.
    I'd prefer to stick with an independent, non-Chromium based. News of retrenchments also concerning.
     
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    71,355
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,746
    Location:
    USA
    The seem to be the only company internet related that claims to have lost money from the pandemic rather than gaining it. I don't know how much I believe that to be the reason for the lost market share. In general usage I feel that it is as fast as any other browser. Launching it does seem to take quite a bit longer than others do though. That would stop a lot of people from using it at all. I hope they figure out what they need to do soon. I'd prefer to keep it but if they go under I will likely switch to Edge. The Software Reporter Tool in Chrome has caused me enough usability issues I do not want it on my machine.
     
  23. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    yes, it does, mantra. no problem.
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    are you using isp-provided dns servers or 3rd party dns servers? if the latter, is it one of those providers that does filtering at dns level? and is doh enabled in your ff profile?
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2020
  25. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,289
    locate the "swreporter" folder in your user profile, delete its contents, right click on it and follow "properties->security->advanced" and then disable inherited permissions for this folder. chrome will not dl it anymore.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.