New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Well this is very good, Krusty, though it did seem like you had to do a lot of finagling to get it to work again. I didn't have the patience. Only went so far as disabling AdGuard desktop, and still getting the "insecure connection" message. Maybe a search would've turned up a cure but just wanted to move on. Bummer. :( Opera worked perfectly straight out of the box.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,158
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @plat1098 ,

    Sorry you had trouble with FF. The beauty of having backups is I knew I could play and hopefully find the culprit as I would sorely miss using FF.

    I've had the odd "insecure connection" message on all browsers at times, but I found as soon as I disabled BlackfogPrivacy the connections went through. Your signature doesn't mention that so I'm not sure why you'd have that error just in Firefox.
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,158
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    56,566
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,166
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,158
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    They don't really offer the latest version of Win10 (1909) anything anyway, but they do patch older OS'. The Pro version for someone on Win7 might benefit. I probably won't miss 0Patch.
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,915
    Location:
    USA
    I had read about that issue yesterday. Unfortunately I didn't get back here soon enough to save you the time of having to work through it. Glad you found the problem.
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    34,837
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    56,566
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    56,566
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,158
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://www.ghacks.net/2020/02/18/firefox-73-0-1-will-be-released-later-today/
     
  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,768
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I just updated it using internal updater ( 5MB download ).
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,049
    Location:
    USA
    Installed 73.01 without incident, but unfortunately it doesn't solve the poor performance that started with v73.0
     
  14. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    83
    ▬ Firefox 73.0.1 | Release notes

     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,915
    Location:
    USA
    I'm going to have to agree. With the new Edge out this is a bad time for Firefox to get slower.
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,049
    Location:
    USA
    Well, sorry you're seeing the same problem. Perhaps we are in a small minority as I don't see any talk about it generally on the internet...? For me the slowdown was immediately noticeable after updating from v72.0.2 to v73, ie slow response to mouse clicks in the UI and slow network response too. I tried loading FF in Safe Mode, Refreshing Firefox, disabling DoH, switched to different themes, nothing has helped. On the other hand Chrome and Chromium Edge are very fast, so it's not an issue with my internet service.
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,915
    Location:
    USA
    The degree that folks are affected by this probably varies. It is not a huge difference for me, but it is noticeable.
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,049
    Location:
    USA
    Let me know if you learn more; I'll do the same. Thanks!
     
  19. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,840
    Victek, xxxJackxxx, do you use exploit protection btw?
    Mrk
     
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,049
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I use HitmanPro.Alert - it protects Firefox, Google Chrome and MS Chromium Edge.

    https://www.hitmanpro.com/en-us/alert.aspx
     
  21. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,840
    Try without - I noticed severe incompatibility with windows exploit protection and ff73. Prior, there would be some issues, with ff73, the browser becomes unresponsive.
    Mrk
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,915
    Location:
    USA
    I'm just running ESET Internet Security with pretty much default settings.
     
  23. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    34,837
    Schedule Update (February 18, 2020)
     
  24. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,049
    Location:
    USA
    I turned off exploit protection and I'd say it's marginally better, but still nowhere near the performance I was seeing in v72 and not usable for now.
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,158
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The update went smoothly here without Firefox becoming suspended. No 0Patch to interfere now.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.