New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,130
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,459
    Location:
    USA
    On the Lockwise subject, as a long time LastPass user I had not really looked at it. After discovering that by default that you can just sit down at a PC with Firefox and look at the saved passwords in plain text (and yes, I realize that are many other ways to get to them, but this is just too easy) I am in the process of eliminating it at work and replacing it with another option. Yes, if someone else is sitting at your PC you have many problems at that point but again, this is too easy. Someone should have to at least work to steal your passwords.
     
  3. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    By using a matser password the passwords will not be displayed in plain text like in Chrome. In fact using a master password prevented some tools (like Nirsoft and SecurityXploded) from reading the passwords when I tested this feature sometime ago. It's too bad that the extension SecureLogin no longer works but NoScript/uBlock should be enough to prevent malicious scripts from reaching the passwords.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,491
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What to me matters is what happens when your password database is stolen. If it's encrypted, then it shouldn't be easy to hack. From what I understood, passwords are encrypted by Lockwise if you use a master password, just like in Chrome. And yes, other users shouldn't be able to quickly take a peek at your stored passwords, so I wonder how this can be solved.
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,459
    Location:
    USA
    When you try to see the plain text of your password in Chrome or the new Edge it prompts you for your Windows password. This to me would be sufficient to silence my complaint.
     
  6. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Passwords in Firefox with a Master Password were encrypted long before the implementation of Lockwise. Lockwise main feature is to check if some of the sites you are registered are compromised and to hint you to change your passwords there.

    I don't think the passwords in Chrome are encrypted or they weren't before. The reason Google didn't implement a master password was to make the users use a different application to save their passwords and not in Chrome. This may have changed (I don't know since I don't use Chrome and I installed Chromium Edge a few days ago to test it).

    Also let's don't forget about the Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) required by most sites/accounts nowadays. They should stole your phone as well. But I do agree that there is not a good idea to save sensitive data like passwords for online payment in the browsers.
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,491
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, I was thinking about such a solution. I have never actually used the password managers from browsers, so it's new to me. I have been using KeePass for years, but it's annoying as hell having to keep copying and pasting username and passwords.

    OK, my bad. So apparently Chromium based browsers don't encrypt passwords when a master password is used? Sounds quite silly to me. And what you're saying is that there isn't anything special about Lockwise, other than the cloud based feature?

    However, I suppose it's just as secure as third party password managers, so for me it would be an interesting solution. Except for the fact that I don't care for the cloud, and I would need to know where exactly passwords are being stored. I always protect the password file via SpyShelter's folder protection feature.
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,162
    IMO chromium based uses the user (login) password as master password. thats only one reason to set a user password.
     
  9. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I didn't say that. Chromium based browsers didn't have a master password feature before. If they now have such a feature I am sure the passwords would be encrypted if a master password is set.

    And LockWise to me is similar to:

    https://haveibeenpwned.com/

    I think this is similar as well:

    https://www.zdnet.com/article/google-launches-password-checkup-feature-will-add-it-to-chrome-later-this-year/

    I don't know if it provides the same security level as password managers but it is enough for me since I am the only one who use the computer, don't use sharing and any remote services and Comodo's HIPS is watching my back.

    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,162
    Lockwise is at first a password manager IN firefox, not outsite. no more, no less.
    i am sure i already wrote that.

    but you can access this other mozilla service (monitor) to check your email oder passwords. ofc not as plain text, but it can check for the hash of password in database.
    https://monitor.firefox.com/

    this is only one of hand full of services to check passwords, you gave another one, the german BSI or HPI
    https://sec.hpi.de/ilc/search

    but its true (and sad) that chromium dont offer a master password, the only option to view passwords within chromium is to enter users password if given or to use a third party tool. to secure passwords you can use extensions, one of those
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/masterpassword-for-chrome/hifbblnjfcimjnlhibannjoclibgedmd

    As good as any password manager, incl LastPass and similar.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,491
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, I see. But overall it seems that the standard password manager in Chromium based browsers are pretty much a joke. Mozilla has tried to make Lockwise more like LastPass from what I understood. It would also be enough for me, but I wouldn't want them to store passwords in the cloud. On the other hand, nowadays most webservices are protected with 2FA for an extra layer of protection. I think I'm going to ask the team behind Vivaldi to implement a more advanced password manager.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,610
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,996
    Location:
    USA
  14. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,456
    Mozilla Firefox ESR 68.5.0 Released (February 11, 2020)
    Release Notes
    Download (Choose which Firefox Browser to download in your language)
     
  15. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,456
    Firefox 73.0: find out what is new in Mozilla's latest release
    February 11, 2020
    https://www.ghacks.net/2020/02/11/firefox-73-0-find-out-what-is-new-in-mozillas-latest-release/
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,513
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Firefox finally died on my two Windows machines. One I tried updating from the internal updater and will not open. It will not open in Safe Mode nor after a Refresh. On the other machine I uninstalled HitmanPro.Alert just in case it was interfering, then downloaded the FF 73 installer. Sadly, I ended up with the same result = Firefox not opening at all.

    It looks like I will have to completely uninstall / reinstall FF and see how that goes.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,513
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Uninstalled Firefox using REVO Uninstaller to make sure I got it all, clean install and still FF will not open.

    As much as I love Firefox it is of no use to me if it will not open.

    Bye bye my friend. :(
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,459
    Location:
    USA
    Did you check the Software log in the Windows Event Viewer to see if it is logging an application crash?
     
  19. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,757
    don't despair, buddy. fox portable by jt haller's there for you. :cool:
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,513
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Here's one.
    Code:
    Log Name:      Application
    Source:        Application Error
    Date:          12/02/2020 7:30:04 AM
    Event ID:      1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level:         Error
    Keywords:      Classic
    User:          N/A
    Computer:      Dave-PC
    Description:
    Faulting application name: firefox.exe, version: 73.0.0.7342, time stamp: 0x5e3dd850
    Faulting module name: firefox.exe, version: 73.0.0.7342, time stamp: 0x5e3dd850
    Exception code: 0x80000003
    Fault offset: 0x000000000000f636
    Faulting process ID: 0x243c
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d5e11a09d38252
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    Report ID: d977e392-2900-48c4-8e02-090b00fa93fe
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
      <System>
        <Provider Name="Application Error" />
        <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
        <Level>2</Level>
        <Task>100</Task>
        <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
        <TimeCreated SystemTime="2020-02-11T20:30:04.644611300Z" />
        <EventRecordID>40574</EventRecordID>
        <Channel>Application</Channel>
        <Computer>Dave-PC</Computer>
        <Security />
      </System>
      <EventData>
        <Data>firefox.exe</Data>
        <Data>73.0.0.7342</Data>
        <Data>5e3dd850</Data>
        <Data>firefox.exe</Data>
        <Data>73.0.0.7342</Data>
        <Data>5e3dd850</Data>
        <Data>80000003</Data>
        <Data>000000000000f636</Data>
        <Data>243c</Data>
        <Data>01d5e11a09d38252</Data>
        <Data>C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe</Data>
        <Data>C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe</Data>
        <Data>d977e392-2900-48c4-8e02-090b00fa93fe</Data>
        <Data>
        </Data>
        <Data>
        </Data>
      </EventData>
    </Event>
    It means nothing to me though.
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,254
    I have officially given on up on Firefox as well today. No crashes but just different issues. Trying to give the new MS Edge a run.
     
  22. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    330
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Whew! Was in the market for a 2nd browser, tried Firefox today and promptly ditched it for Opera. Would not load multiple webpages, stating there was an insecure connection. Example website: Bleeping Computer o_O

    Wow! This makes me far less likely to try Firefox again in the future. Especially since Opera is working great so far. Edge.release is my primary.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,513
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    So I booted into Safe Mode with Networking and Firefox installed and opened. Booted back into normal Windows, FF opens for a second then closes. How do I find out the cuplrit?

    Two machines with the same problem.

    • #1 has Norton
    • #2 has Windows Defender + WFC
    • Uninstalled HMP.A on #2 = no difference
    • Uninstalled Blackfog Privacy on #1 = no difference
    • Disabled Malwarebytes on both = no difference
    • Disabled OSAmor on #1 = no difference
    • No other real-time security on either, except 0Patch? Can remove that but I don't think it would be the problem.
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,513
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Aha! On #1 I uninstalled HMP.A + BFP + 0Patch + disabled MB, restarted and FF opened.

    Restoring an image and will do the same without losing my FF config. Hopefully I'll have success.
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,513
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yay! I'm back with Firefox 73.0. Clearly one of those programs, or a combination was causing me grief. I'd love to know exactly what the problem was though.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.