New Firefox Browser Version Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  2. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,135
    Location:
    USA
  4. Alhaitham

    Alhaitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    Egypt
    updated, thanks

    this should be the official Mozilla Firefox update thread

    -all upcoming updates would be here
    -any new threads would be merged here
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Version 29 beta was also released yesterday. This brings Australis with it. I assume that means it should be included with the 29 final when it releases in 6 weeks. Anyone else installed it? I'm not sure what I think of it. I don't consider it an improvement. Just change for the sake of it.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    xxJackxx, be aware that Firefox 29.0 Beta 1 has not been officially released yet.

    As of the time of my post, the Download Firefox Beta in Your Language page is still featuring Firefox 28.0 Beta 9 downloads.

    Just FYI for readers of this thread.
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Understood. Probably not the correct thread for it but Betanews and Majorgeeks have had it since yesterday so I figured someone else had played with it.
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Firefox 28 now supports OCSP via GET, but it is disabled by default. Anyone knows what advantages it has over POST specifically to OCSP?

    It now also supports TLS False Start, enabled by default, controlled by the preference:
    security.ssl.enable_false_start
    More info: http://blog.cryptographyengineering.com/2012/04/so-long-false-start-we-hardly-knew-ya.html

    Even though TLS 1.2 is supported since v27, AMO still doesn't support it, and also no Forward Secrecy
    https://www.ssllabs.com:/ssltest/analyze.html?d=addons.mozilla.org
    I created a bug about it earlier, please drop a vote and comment there:
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=961418
     
  9. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,089
  10. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  11. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    In Firefox ESR 24.4.0 the default settings for tls are:

    security.tls.version.max [1]
    security.tls.version.min [0]

    Wouldn't it be better (more secure) to change max setting to 3 and min setting to 1?
    SSL 3.0 being the lowest and TLS 1.2 being the highest defined.
    Same settings would apply to Firefox 28 .
     
  12. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Yes, that is more secure.
    BTW, Firefox has security.tls.version.max set to 3 since version 27.

    Thanks :)
     
  13. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    Thanks BoerenkoolMetWorst for verifying info & the correction.
     
  14. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,089
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  16. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Right ON and thank you!!
     
  17. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  18. Alhaitham

    Alhaitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    Egypt
    Updated

    Thanks
     
  19. Alhaitham

    Alhaitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    Egypt
  20. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  22. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    Everytime I install Firefox pages don't load/format right, and I get crashes. Regardless of the system, and how clean it is.

    /sadface
     
  23. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    siljaline, let's clarify a bit. As per your attachment: Slow shut downs lead to 'Firefox is already running' warning (see 966469 and 985655). I believe this particular Known Issue was carried over to the FF 30 Release Notes as not to lose sight of fixing both at a later date, as detailed below:

    Bug 966469 - Slow queries in netpredictions.sqlite - Status: NEW. Comment 15:"this bug will (eventually) be resolved by the backend rewrite (bug 1009122). Until then, the seer has been disabled on all branches, so we don't need to worry about this for any upcoming releases."

    Bug 985655 - [AsyncShutdown] Ensure that Sqlite.jsm doesn't shutdown before its clients - Status: RESOLVED FIXED. Comment 60: "If this isn't related to the shutdown hangs, then there is no need to rush. We can let it ride the trains." Status-firefox32: fixed.

    The "Firefox 29 doesn't exit when using 'clear history when Firefox closes' is turned on" bug (1005487), which prompted a "Firefox is Already Running" warning was fixed in FF 30.

    If the above 2 bugs result in the same warning prompt, as experienced with FF 29, I have not seen it after running/closing FF 30 all day. If someone has seen this warning prompt, while using FF 30, please reply to this thread with your issue.
     
  25. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,089
    @ Firefox 30 hardeners: I made some notes during my pre-install look at FF30 release info. What has caught your eye? Are you aware of any points of interest that aren't reflected here? Thanks.

    lockPref("beacon.enabled", false);

    lockPref("browser.newtabpage.directory.source", "");
    lockPref("browser.newtabpage.directory.reportClickEndPoint", "");

    lockPref("experiments.enabled", false);
    lockPref("experiments.manifest.uri", "");
    lockPref("experiments.supported", false);

    lockPref("geo.wifi.logging.enabled", false);

    lockPref("loop.server", "");
    lockPref("media.eme.enabled", false);
    lockPref("services.push.serverURL", "");

    lockPref("plugin.state.flash", 0)
    lockPref("plugin.state.java", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npunity3d", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.unity web player", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npciscowebcommunicator", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.ciscowebcommunicator", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npmcafeemss", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npplayerplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.playerplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npchip", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.cisco jabber guest plug-in", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npesteid-firefox-plugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.esteidfirefoxplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npesteid-firefox-plugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npmozcouponprinter", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.couponprinter-firefox_v", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npbispbrowser", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npgcplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.gcplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npwebcard", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npatgpc", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.webex", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npatgpc", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npskypewebplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.skypewebplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npfacebookvideocalling", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.facebookvideocalling", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npmeetingjoinpluginoc", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.lwaplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npvidyoweb", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.vidyoweb", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npmvtplugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npviewright", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.viewrightwebplayer", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.npmcffplg", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.f5 ssl vpn plugin", 0);
    lockPref("plugin.state.f5 sam inspection host plugin", 0);

    =============================================================
    FHR now storing/submitting a persistent client identifier
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=968419

    Navigator.sendBeacon
    https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/Navigator.sendBeacon
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=936340

    Real-time communications service for Mozilla ecosystem
    https://wiki.mozilla.org/Loop

    Firefox Plugin whitelisting
    https://wiki.mozilla.org/Plugins/Firefox_Whitelist

    Google checks for downloaded files (FF30/FF31)
    https://wiki.mozilla.org/Security/Features/Application_Reputation_Design_Doc
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=662819
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2014
Loading...