New Firefox available

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Franklin, Apr 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    New FF.

    http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

    What's New
    -Fixes for various security issues, some serious
    -Fixes for 3 memory leaks
    -Fixes for various crash bugs
    -Fixes for upgrading issues such as the gray bar, toolbar reset, and lost search engines
    -Firefox 1.5.0.2 for Macintosh is a universal binary

    Mozilla Firefox 1.0.8 is also available for users who can not or do not wish to use Mozilla Firefox 1.5.x.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Story
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2006
  3. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    Already updated. :)
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan

    Attached Files:

    • ff.JPG
      ff.JPG
      File size:
      63.6 KB
      Views:
      338
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2006
  5. <DreamCatcher>

    <DreamCatcher> Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    154
    Thanks,

    works well:D
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Maybe the language makes a difference in bytes. :D
    Installing v1.5.0.1 English over v1.5.0.1 Dutch was no problem.
    Installing v1.5.0.2 English over v1.5.0.1 English was no problem
    Yes I installed Firefox two times today LOL.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2006
  8. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    From Ccleaners forum:

    FF users remember that FF now has integrated upates that don't require you to download the full installer anymore. You can either wait for FF to prompt you to update or go to Help>Check for updates. This will prevent you from having to download the whole program.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks for clearing the matter.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    With the previous version of firefox, I noted that it crashes each time I install some extension or theme. I don,t know it was a known issue or just for me?
    I updated the version yesterday. Just today I installed two themes and firefox crashed again. It feels really bad.
     
  11. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just updated through firefox and it updated to 1.5.0.2 seems to work ok. ;)
     
  12. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Aigle, if I were you, I would uninstall it, kill the profile and install again fresh. Something might have gotten munged up somewhere or somehow..
     
  13. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Hi Aigle,

    I had the same prob with 1.5.0.1 with constant crashes so I ghosted back to 1.5.0.0 and waited for this release.

    Haven't had a prob as yet and am running noscript as the only extension.:)

    Memory usage is around is around 33meg as I'm typing.
     
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan

    What do u mean by this.

    BTW, i just installed few more themes and no crash. May be some issue with some specific theme.
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    aigle

    Use your profile manager and create another profile. Create two or even three. Try each profile with your extensions and themes one by one. See which one runs the best for you.

    http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/profile
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks, but that seesm a lot of work, so i will wait to see if it crashed again ....
    I did post in their forum as well.
     
  17. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    when u unistall firefox, ur profile stays on ur computer. u can delete it by going to C:\Documents and Settings\[user]\Application Data\Mozilla and deleting teh firefox folder or just delete the mozilla folder.
     
  18. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Let's just hope they fix the other 100+ memory leaks :rolleyes: :D
     
  19. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I did not do a clean install. I just installed new version by browser update.
     
  20. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Mine using 49 MB with 5 tabs but no avtive browsing currently as I am writing. I have about 9 themes and plenty of extensions( 22 approx) installed.
    Let,s talk about the memory use by the new version.
    BTW, opera also updated its version recently- new version on my system with 4 tabs but no active browsing uses 20.5 MB.
     
  21. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    yes i know. since u asked about kerodo's statement so i clarified it for u
     
  22. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Each & everytime there has been a leak in Firefox. They claim to have fixed it, but thats kust bs - They are still there, has always been, and will always be.
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Ah, ok. I got it. Thanks.
     
  24. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Hello Brian............would you please say more to this...i am interested...
     
  25. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    well the memory leaks can be attributed to a few things: bugs in firefox, faulty extensions, too many extensions, or too many open tabs (firefox loads pages into memory). firefox isnt always the culprit of memory leaks and it intentionally uses memory for loading pages, its not a bug.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.