New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Silly me.
    My mind was racing through the backup programs with SD initials, but it didn't come to me at the time.
    I've tried many backup applications over the years, but Shadow Defender is one that I haven't. Maybe one day. Is it a drive image backup application?

    By the way...
    I agree with you about Drive Snapshot. Something so small, yet so reliable.
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    @Hadron - SD is a "light virtualization" solution (like "DeepFreeze"), not an imaging solution.
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
    Hi Frog.

    Thanks for that.
    I had a read on the site, but couldn't see anything about imaging.
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,730
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    @Hadron

    If it can be of any use to you at least from my own experience in testing baddies inside Shadow Mode with SD.

    With a recent ready backup image (DS) always on hand in event of spillage, I have dumped (clicked on) the most notorious ransomwares AND some formidable viruses while in SD shadow mode, and a few even locked up the system PLUS wiped the folder contents (seemingly) of Shadow Defender itself. A hard reset STILL returned the O/S right back the same as if nothing ever happened. Its been solid as a granite stone on this end.

    Nonetheless, this is a lesson we all have learned over the years.

    And that's thanks in large part by maintaining a Drive Snapshot backup image (AND another image of choice) for failsafe purposes.
     
  5. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,084
    Good advice from @EASTER

    Always have a couple of good backup images that reflect the current state of your machine.

    Regarding Shadow Defender: Being in Shadow Mode has saved my neck hundreds of times and as EASTER says when something goes wrong unexpectedly and everything goes back to 'normal' after reboot., it's a real relief 'Phew! Thank Goodness' moment.
    I've often thought that my PC system would have been wrecked without it.

    As it is, I have a complex system, which Shadow Defender and Sandboxie have looked after successfully, for years but I always keep a couple of backups.

    Patrick

     
    Last edited: May 22, 2020
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,419
    New version available (Digital Signature: June 10, 2020)
    Drive Snapshot (x86) 1.48.0.18809 - (456.208 bytes)
    Drive Snapshot (x64) 1.48.0.18810 - (459.784 bytes)
    Website
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,419
    New version available (Digital Signature: June 22, 2020)
    Drive Snapshot (x86) 1.48.0.18813 - (456.200 bytes)
    Drive Snapshot (x64) 1.48.0.18814 - (459.784 bytes)
    Website
     
  8. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,486
    New version available (Digital Signature: June 24, 2020)
    Drive Snapshot (x86) 1.48.0.18816 - (456.200 bytes)
    Drive Snapshot (x64) 1.48.0.18817 - (459.792 bytes)
    Website
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,419
    New version available (Digital Signature: July 28, 2020)
    Drive Snapshot (x86) 1.48.0.18826 - (456.712 bytes)
    Drive Snapshot (x64) 1.48.0.18825 - (460.296 bytes)
    Website
     
  10. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Hi,
    Thanks ! When I download the version from the above page I still get the 2019 version. Am I missing something ?
     
  11. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,730
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Grateful for all these series of ongoing releases and yet the version currently on is a bit dated and working flawlessly as ever.
     
  12. Krabbath

    Krabbath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2020
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Earth
    I get snapshot.exe 1.48.0.18826 and snapshot64.exe 1.48.0.18825.

    Maybe it helps if you clear your browser cache or simply use another web browser for the download.
     
  13. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    France
    Hi, I tried again with Edge and it worked but I think actually that the first download was ok too, I was misled by something else. Anyway, all seems ok now. Thanks again !
     
  14. Krabbath

    Krabbath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2020
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Earth
    Drive Snapshot supports FTP connections, but not SFTP connections. The FTP protocol is considered insecure, so SFTP support should be implemented, especially considering that Drive Snapshot is intended to address companies as customers too.

    The homepage should be changed to https (instead of http).
     
  15. myk1

    myk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi,
    Does this soft backup/restore the first track of the main disk (I mean the disk with Windows!)
    Thanks.
     
  16. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Location:
    USA
    Of course it does.
     
  17. myk1

    myk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ok, thanks! Am I right if I say that the restoration performed in DOS is only in command line ?
     
  18. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,730
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Just to deviate from the topic a smidgen. Those backup images were in addition to the normal routine and I might add for clarity, of total necessity since I use to heavily test the absolute worse of malware ever concocted.

    As ransomware was sprung on the PC scene and deepened it's ever improving code inventions to snatch and change files & folders as well as scrap many machines from booting to GUI after a hit. Well this camp gladly accepted those challenges and with all due respect wasn't 100% certain even SD could withstand some of the tricks they employed.

    However even with a wiped out folder of where SD itself files resided and were encrypted on the fly then the attack proceeded to seize and lock up the machine, I admit there was a bit of doubt. :eek:

    What a joy to had discovered after pulling the plug performing a hard reset/reboot that everything returned right back to as was as though nothing happened at all. SD maintained integrity of the entire machine and still dumped & dismissed the foulware.

    Still a credit to DS for being on standby with its pre images made beforehand just in case.

    And another reason this user lauds loudly and proudly these pair of softwares over the years as still batting .1000 and rolling on a endless perfect record with my now considered outdated MS framework of series 8.1 :isay:
     
  19. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Location:
    USA
    If I understand the question, then no that's not the only way. Whenever a restore is requested and initiated from within any Windows interface DS will restart the PC in a DOS environment to perform the actual restore, all automatically!
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020
  20. myk1

    myk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ok, thanks, I see.
    Since you seem to be an expert, I'm taking advantage of it....
    So if I am in pure DOSmode (having restarted all the pc with a Dos-boot-USBkey) then the restore is done by running the file SNAPSHOT.EXE and some parameters> right?!
    Something surprises me: the same file SNAPSHOT.EXE can be run by Windows (in a Windows environment) AND by DOS (in a Dos environment) ?
     
  21. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Location:
    USA
    I am far from an expert; I'm just a long-time DS user. Since snapshot.exe and snapshot64.exe are portable into most Windows environments I never had reason (or desire) to execute DS from within DOS. You might address your questions @Brian K, who is much more knowledgeable than me in that arena.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2020
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Remember, today's "DOS environment" includes a whole set of Windows APIs that probably would allow SNAPSHOT to work just fine. As far as its operating under pure DOS v3 or earlier... I have my doubts, but I've been known to be wrong :D
     
  23. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,730
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,243
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You can download a MS-DOS boot disk from the Drive Snapshot web site but I doubt this is frequently done. Running DS from a WinPE disk is so much easier. DOS boot disks don't boot in a UEFI system (unless you set the BIOS to CSM) but you can initiate a DS restore from Windows which boots into an emulated DOS environment to run the restore. This works in MBR and UEFI systems.

    When you open a Command Window to run a batch file you are using emulated DOS.

    Here is the autoexec.bat from the DS DOS boot disk in 2008. It makes me shiver to recall we had to edit this...

    Code:
    @echo off
    
    set bootdrv=A
    \bin\bootdrv
    if errorlevel 2 set bootdrv=C
    
    set path=%BOOTDRV%:\;%BOOTDRV%:\bin;%BOOTDRV%:\utils
    
    :- CDROM drive at W:
    set CDS=
    if exist MSCDIDE set CDS=/d:MSCDIDE,w
    if exist MSCDUSB set CDS=%CDS% /d:MSCDUSB,w
    if \%CDS% == \ devload \bin\GCDROM.SYS /D:CDSATA /C0
    if exist CDSATA set CDS=%CDS% /d:CDSATA,w
    if \%CDS% == \ devload \bin\GCDROM.SYS /D:CDSATA /C1
    if exist CDSATA set CDS=%CDS% /d:CDSATA,w
    if not \%CDS% == \   bin\shsucdx %CDS% /q
    set CDS=
    
    :- load language specific settings
    
    if exist LANGUAGE.BAT call LANGUAGE.BAT
    
    
    if exist XMSXXXX0 goto _xmsok
        echo.
        echo AUTOEXEC: No XMS manager installed (himem.sys)
        goto _abort
    :_xmsok
    
    
    rem The ramdisk drive
    set ramdrv=q:
    xmsdsk 8192 %ramdrv% /y /t
    if errorlevel 1 goto _ramok
    rem xmsdsk returns errorlevel 0 for error
    goto _abort
    :_ramok 
    
    md %ramdrv%\temp
    set temp=%ramdrv%\temp
    set tmp=%ramdrv%\temp
    
    copy \command.com %ramdrv%\command.com
    if not exist %ramdrv%\command.com goto _abort
    set comspec=%ramdrv%\command.com
    
    copy snapshot.exe %ramdrv%\.
    
    md %ramdrv%\bin
    copy \bin\unuharc.exe %ramdrv%\bin
    copy \bin\_unpack.bat  %ramdrv%\bin
    
    set path=%ramdrv%\;%ramdrv%\bin;%path%
    
    call _unpack \level0\utils %ramdrv%\bin
    
    
    call UDMA.bat
    
    call NTFS.bat
    
    goto _end
     
    :_abort
    @echo AUTOEXEC: Aborted...
    @echo.
    @rem flow into "_end"
    :_end
    
     
  25. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,776
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.