New Drive Snapshot build released.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Aaron Here, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Hello


    In first excuse me for my poor English.

    I love Drive Snapshot, because this software is tiny in size, and because it is portable, and quite easy to use.

    By cons I meet a worry. Or rather, I ask myself a question :

    I wonder if it is possible to restore an image onto a new hard drive, but can not start Windows?


    Indeed, when I start a Win10Pe to use Drive Snapshot 64 to restore backup, I do not
    have access to the options "restore partition structure" or "restore MBR."


    Would you have a solution to this problem?
    For I do not know why the right click does not work under WIN10Pe, and does not give me access to the options "restore structure partition" or "restore MBR" in Drive Snapshot, which would allow me to restore my backup to disk new hard.

    The only solution found for now is to use Bootice to save and restore the partition table. Then restore Windows 10 with 64-bit GPT with Drive Snapshot on Win10Pe.

    I also raises another question: what DS align partitions to SSD ?


    Thank you
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,183
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    zorro51,

    Does the mouse right click work in other apps from WIN10Pe? Have you tried another mouse?
     
  3. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Y es. Thé right click work this other applications.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Has anything changed in this new build besides the period of the trial?
     
  5. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    FRANCE
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Sounds like the "automatic" TRIAL extension may be over (would be a significant change for the author)...
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,183
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    zorr051,

    Are you right clicking over the "HD1 Crucial_CT2 238.47 GB GPT" square? It looks like you have right clicked in the Free Space.

    If you right click in the square you should see the Restore Partition Structure choice, etc.
     
  8. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    FRANCE
    I tried everything: by right clicking on HD1 Crucial CT2 238.47 GB GPT and also on Free Space. But I've never had the opportunity to see appear "Restore Partition Structure"
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,183
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Are you using the latest DS version?

    I notice HD 1 is a GPT disk. I suggest running Diskpart "clean" on this disk. Then it will be a MBR disk. Does the right click menu then show "Restore Partition Structure"?
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,625
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    In answer to the same question posed to me earlier Pete the same applied over here also now but seeing as after experiencing Macrium for the very first time I am transitioned over to it because the time reduction is amazing and compared to DS duration, no need for it anymore. Macrium shocked! me because not only did it work fast it's as dumb simple to use even more than DS used to be for me.

    So a new Macrium convert here and couldn't be happier as long as this continues.
     
  11. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    FRANCE
    I use UEFI boot and Secure boot. so I can not convert to MBR
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,183
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Can you tell us about the computer. Have you had a SSD/HD failure and you are replacing the drive with a Crucial SSD? Or is this the original drive and the partitions have been deleted? Or are you just testing a new SSD to see if the images can be restored? Something is strange with the Crucial drive as it is reported GPT but it doesn't have a MSR. That's why I'm interested in temporarily making it a MBR disk to see if the GPT image will restore.

    How many images do you have for old HD 1? I assume it originally had an OS so you should have around 4 partition images. Do they "Test" OK with DS?
     
  13. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    FRANCE

    Oupsss in fact I am really confused.

    Indeed, I redid the test yesterday Drive Snapshot with Win10Pe. And right clicking twice (by double-clicking close it right HD1 Crucial CT2 238.47 GB GPT), the "restore partition structure" menu appears. Oddly not clicking only once, it does not appear.

    My problem is therefore resolved.

    Except to answer your question: I do a little catastrophe tests, removing all partitions with software like Partition Wizard, and then I try to restore my backup with Drive Snapshot to see if it is able to get out of worst case scenarios.

    It would seem that he is capable.

    The only flaw I found him is that flaw restore each partition one by one: the Windows partition, the MSR partition ...

    One option that restored all at once would be great.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,183
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I agree. The single partition restores are annoying.

    I'm glad your right click problem is resolved.
     
  15. zorro51

    zorro51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Apparently this option will be available in the next version of this software.
     
  16. Gaddster

    Gaddster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    UK
    I personally use a batch to restore the partition structure then restore all partitions.

    I know some people prefer the GUI but having batches saves time (especially auto running from a PE).
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,183
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Gaddster,

    Nice. Have you tried this with a GPT disk in a UEFI system? Just interested. It should work.
     
  18. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    A new version has been posted (1.43.0.17973).
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Do you know if it's new, or just a shift of trial dates
     
  20. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    It's rarely easy to know the difference as there's not always a change in the size of the executable. I do know that version 1.43.0.17931 was released on 1/21/16 and it had a signature issue. Version 1.43.0.17973 released on 1/27/16 fixed that issue.
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    THanks for the info.
     
  22. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    A new version has been posted (1.43.0.17979).
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Any Changes
     
  24. cesabo

    cesabo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    United States
    As always, I have no idea. A minor version change (1.43.0.17974) was released a few months ago, but this is obviously a higher version increment. The executable is the same size, so that which was released a few months ago could have been a fix and this just a trial date reset.
     
  25. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,902
    I gave up on this program with Linux EXT4 imaging. It can correctly recognize the used size of the EXT4 partition, but when it starts imaging, it appears it backs up all disk sectors, used or unused. As a result, the disk image size is huge, and it took forever to complete (since it backs up all sectors).

    Interesting enough, Acronis True Image Home has the same problem. The enterprise product of Acronis (Acronis Backup for PC) does not have this problem and can back up the used disk space correctly.

    @Brian K
    Have you come across this problem when imaging Linux EXT4 using either Drive Snapshot or Acronis TI Home?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.