New Computer

Discussion in 'ten-forward' started by ErikAlbert, Apr 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    My new computer finally arrived, although not complete yet.
    - all-in-one printer is missing
    - external harddisk for backup is missing
    - lightscribe DVD/CD writer is missing
    All three were ordered later.

    I had bad luck with my new computer shop.
    In the period, my order was in the work, the owner suddenly decided to reorganize his company completely.
    - an administrative mess, my second order was never executed.
    - delays in everything
    - communications problems : phones disconnected, email-addresses didn't work.
    - technicians and employees too short
    - new locations

    In the same period, I was forced to move to a new apartment :
    I moved on 2006.02.13, well the 13th caused another number of problems.
    - my address was changed : new shops, new neighbors, ...
    - no internet connection during 14 days
    - the heating didn't work and no hot water during 14 days (in the winter)
    - the door phone didn't work through which I missed several appointments (plumber, Tv connection, internet connection, house deliveries)
    - so I gave them my phone number to call me in order to open the frontdoor, What happened ? Three of them wrote the wrong phone number down, again no appointment.
    - the plumber, finally arrived, he couldn't repair the boiler, so I had to wait for an expert to fix it.
    - the front door lock was changed without my knowledge.
    What a MESS. Everything is OK now, except the door phone.

    Now, I have to get used to my new hardware and new softwares.
    One thing I noticed already, this baby really runs like a Ferrari.
    Even Firefox, which was always a very slow starter, opens now in 1-2 seconds, like everything else.
    WinXPproSP2 is new to me and I have to find everything back. Quite a difference with win2000proSP4.
    Installing was easier than win2000proSP4, partitioning was easy.
    The separation of system and personal partition was not difficult, but the result was rather disappointing.
    You can't move the entire folder "Documents and Settings" and that doesn't fit in my plans for system/personal image backup.
    Another stupid mistake of M$.
    It seems to be possible, but not without doing abnormal and not without risks.
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I guess it's time for a Leffe :D
     
  3. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Is that some kind of an alcoholic beverage by chance? :shifty: :D


    snowbound
     
  4. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    yeppers *puppy*
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Alcohol and Ferrari is a crazy combination. :D

    Latest update : online-banking works on my new computer, but it took awhile and my money is still there.
     
  6. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    I've never tried to do it, but doesn't MS Powertoys help to do this?

    Code:
    Tweak UI
    
    This PowerToy gives you access to system settings that are not exposed in the Windows XP default user interface, including mouse settings, Explorer settings, taskbar settings, and more.
    
    Version 2.10 requires Windows XP Service Pack 1 or Windows Server 2003
    Hopefully the compuetr is working better than the new appartement :D

    Cheers,
    nicM
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    nicM,
    I know the powertoy "TweakUI", but it isn't powerfull enough to move the entire folder "Documents and Settings", not even all the important ones. Neither is "Folder Mover" (created by Horizon Datasys - RollbackRx).
    For instance :
    The hidden subfolder "Application Data" contains the address-book and settings of my Thunderbird and also data of many other softwares.
    You can't move that folder to another partition with TweakUI or Folder Mover.
    They all move some folders, but not enough.

    The safest one is just "My Documents".
     
  8. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    No, I think you confuse folder "Documents and Settings" with the subfolder "My Documents" under "Documents and Settings".

    Moving the folder "My Documents" is EASY, moving "Documents and Settings" is risky.

    This is what M$ says :
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314843/
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2006
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    I think you answered your own question. I'd move My Documents if you want, but I am not sure I'd mess with Documents and settings. If you started doing things like excluding from SU or FDISR etc, or even with images, you could end up with a lot of broken stuff.

    NicM

    If you look at your disk you will find my documents is several levels down inside Documents and settings.
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Even M$ is IMO opinion wrong.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314843/
    They talk about winnt.exe and winnt32.exe and these files don't even exist on my harddisk. I think both files are win2000pro-files, not winXP-files.

    @Peter,
    I'm just considering the possibility, you don't have to worry about me.
    If everything goes wrong, I only need to install from scratch. It's not a hardware virus.
     
  12. SpikeyB

    SpikeyB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    478
    Do you think that this free software from Faronics (Mapping Tool) can help you: http://www.faronics.com/html/choose.asp

    It has been designed so that you can map folders from a Frozen partition to a thawed partition. Thus, you can still save things in folders that should be frozen. I haven't used it because I haven't needed to but it looks like it will do what you want.

    HTH
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thanks, but I don't think it will help.
    FolderMover is a better tool than MappingTool, but not good enough either.
    TweakUI does more, but not the entire folder.
    I created a new thread for this, because this thread isn't really good for this.
     
  14. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Ahh :) , sorry then, I thought you were looking about "my documents" (to put it on another part), not the "documents and settings" one.

    (Thanks Pete ;) , I knew that).

    nicM
     
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    if ur ever willing maybe this can help:
    also refer to this Microsoft KB article
     
  16. slammer_JvA

    slammer_JvA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Below sea-level. Safe and sound behind our dikes:
    Our charming forum-dragon really seems to get the hang of what liquid it all boils down to with us in the 'low countries', err? ;)

    Cheers, Snowbound :thumb: :D :D :D
     

    Attached Files:

  17. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
  18. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    IT SURE DOES NAT :) ;)
     
  19. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Yes you can, at installation time:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=760506&postcount=52
     
  20. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    OUCH! :eek: :'(

    Good to hear everything is OK, I hope you enjoy your new PC. :)

    Well, everything was as fast as a Ferrari in its day....Enjoy your new PC before it gets outdated in another 10 months :(

    Anyway, I know it feels very nice to have a blazing fast PC. Now pump up those DVDs! :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.