New computer with Windows 8 needs an image program.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by innerpeace, Jul 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. innerpeace

innerpeace Registered Member

I'm building a new Haswell machine with Windows 8 64 bit, an SSD and UEFI BIOS. I'm new to all of these technologies and I'm in over my head. I intend on clean installing Windows 8, activating Windows 8 and then imaging the install.
    Can you help me find a free or low cost imaging program for this purpose? I would prefer something that also has a rescue disk. Would Macrium Reflect free work ok? My current PC is running Windows XP SP3 32 bit. Can I install the free version on XP, make a rescue disk and would it work on Windows 8 64 bit and 7 64 bit? Which rescue cd version is best to use and is it easy to make?

Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
  2. oliverjia

oliverjia Registered Member

yes macrium free work fine.
    select x64 PE 4.0 when you make the rescue CD/USB. easy to do, just follow instructions.

3. HAN

HAN Registered Member

4. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

Image for Linux (~$30) supports UEFI boot and can be used for both making Images and Restoring Images.

For ~$39 you get Image for Windows, Image for DOS, Image for Linux and OSD Tool Suite Professional.

For Home use, the licensing says for use on up to three PC's.

5. innerpeace

When running the installer under Options I see this.
    MacReflectInstall.jpg

Which one do I choose if I only want to make a rescue cd? If I need to install that is fine but please remember I am currently on Win XP SP3 32bit. I will be making the cd for use on my new computer that I will be installing Windows 8 64bit.

Edit: I installed the free version on Windows XP Home 32bit. When I click Create Rescue media I see this.

RescueMediaWizard.jpg

When I click advanced it asks if I want PE 3.1 or PE 4.0. I choose 3.1 and then click next and I see this if I choose 64bit.

64bitmedia.jpg