New Comodo Firewall 2.3 Released!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ISSB, Sep 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ISSB

    ISSB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Posts:
    18
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Hmm... Have you downloaded it to confirm it is newer than 2.3.4.45?
    Personally I´ll wait until they announce it on their forum before I install any new version. And that has not happend yet.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2006
  3. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    The file on the server is the same version 2.3.4.45 released on 01 Sep 2006. Maybe a new setup file will be uploaded to the server later.
     
  4. speedlever

    speedlever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    The Comodo page says a new firewall has been released and the date is 7Sept06. But it only says ver 2.3. Hard to know if it's newer than 2.3.4.45 or not.

    edit: 2.3.5.62 just updated over 2.3.4.45
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2006
  5. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It's a new version? 2.3.0.49
     
  6. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    The latest updated version is 2.3.5.62

    Regards, C.
     
  7. speedlever

    speedlever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Delete your temp files and try again. I now have 2.3.5.62.
     
  8. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,741
    Location:
    New York City
    'Updater' function worked fine (although a bit slow). Now have version
    2.3.5.62.

    Thankful
     
  9. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    memory usage?

    new features?
     
  10. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,741
    Location:
    New York City
    From the Comodo Forum :

    What's New?
    -------------------------------------------------------
    FIXED! Bug causing slow windows startups
    FIXED! Bugs causing BSODs
    FIXED! Bugs causing GUI to crash
    FIXED! Bug causing windows startup to freeze when block all outgoing connections option selected
    FIXED! Bug causing some alerts to be invisible

    My memory usage is 23,816 K

    Thankful
     
  11. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    At my PC the Comodo great firewall uses about 22MB RAM.
     
  12. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Just got the newest version via update.
    It is the 2.3.5.62.
    Using just over 24,000 K.
     
  13. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    well i never had problems with comodo since beginning.
     
  14. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Code:
    http://www.personalfirewall.comodo.com/download/CF_Setup_2.3.5.62.exe
    Fast User Switching bug has been fixed. Its memory usage is about 6-20 MB with my setup:
    I disabled Aplication Behaviour, Component Control, Enable Alerts (blocks all except allowed).
     
  15. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    At last,somebody who knows how to toggle the mem usage settings from highest to lowest.:)
     
  16. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    It hasn't agreed with my computer, it seems. Will likely use Outpost 4 when it comes out.
     
  17. niteghost

    niteghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Comodo is pretty "bad" with their "outgoing" , click on OPERA Bowser, it does not even ask me for me for "permission" while other Firewalls asked me.
    Still think it needs alot of work on their Leak Test.
     
  18. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    Check if you don't have "Do not show any alerts for the application certified by Comodo" ticked in the security /advanced / Miscellaneous tab.
     
  19. Melih-Comodo

    Melih-Comodo Former Poster

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    70

    Niteghost

    Comodo is one of the best, if not the best, in protecting against leak tests!
    However, we try to make security painless by having a database of certified applications. If you have the settings set it so that certified apps won't generate you an alert and CPF will continue to do its job on the background without bothering you. This is why you don't see the alert. CPF is fully aware of the app and already has this app in its certified db.

    thanks
    Melih
     
  20. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Have tried out CF after reading the many posts here at Wilders and I find it to be very good but by no means an expert here.

    I really only need a soft firewall to stop ms products such as WMP phoning home
    which CF does well but had to untick "Do not show any alerts for the application certified by Comodo" .

    After switching off learning mode CF will not remember if I run default browser (FF) through Sandboxie.

    Apart from that minor prob I think CF is as good as other posters have stated but would really like a review by STEM as his word is gospel.:)
     
  21. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    On installation, make a custom install (shown here) this will then prompt you for all applications attempting internet access.

    If you have the firewall installed, then uncheck(un-tick) the option (as mentioned) "do not show any alerts for the applications certified by comodo".
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    A workaround is:- go to the Sandboxie installation folder, and copy "SandboxieHelper.dll" to your c:\ drive (or your main system drive)
     
  23. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Many thanks Stem.Worked perfectly!:)
     
  24. cprtech

    cprtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    Canada
    Stem, if you are luking about this thread, would you be so kind as to offer your opinion, even if it's brief, on Comodo :)
     
  25. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi, I am still playing with the latest version,... let me check a bit more and I will post my personal opinion(view)
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2006
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.