new bug might be in tds 4 as well

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Mr.Blaze, Sep 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :cool: when i save incomplet avi movies or badly coded movies when i double click on them instead of windows media 10 comeing up and playing the movie tds comes up

    so to by pass it i have to right click select open with

    but double clicking is a no no on such files

    i can understand half dowenloaded exe's programs or unreconized files

    but the new windows media well play half incomplet movies
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Blaze, is that TDS upcoming to scan the files or trying to run them?
    Are your file associations right?
     
  3. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    well i double click on movie file and tds shows up doing i think the scan you know black screen talks to you checks the process and any change in your system type thing
     
  4. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    This is only because the file extension must not be "AVI" or "MPG" or otherwise known extension. Files with the extension .DAT for example might be defaulting to "Scan with TDS" or if they have NO extension, the default might still be "scan with TDS"

    Right click menu shows the default action for that filetype, in bold
     
  5. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D thx big G ill try that
     
  6. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :eek: it say scan with TDS how do i change it it scaning my mpeg 2 and mpeg 1 and avi

    damn sp2 this only happend after sp2 or maybe windows media player 10 hmmmmmm no clues can you help me stop this it geting anoying im on windows xp home edition
     
  7. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    hey i was in line and you hop over me four people

    meeeeeeee meeeeeeeeeeeeeee meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    sorry pouting lol
     
  8. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Blaze :)

    Oops I really don't know whether I can help you... :oops:

    Just only a few thoughts:
    Take for example such a mpeg file that will not be opened with MediaPlayer on your system:
    What kind of extension has it ?
    Let's say it has mpeg as extension (I really don't know...).
    Now you could have a look at your file-associations for such a file-type.
    My problems are: I have W 98 SE and not XP, and I have the Dutch version of Windows. So I really am not sure about how to do this on an English version of XP.
    You might like to try this:
    Open My Computer,
    Click View,
    Click Map Options,
    Click File-types,
    Scroll down on the list until you have MPEG,
    Left Click on it,
    Is there now a screen showing that tells you "Open with WMPLAYER" ?,
    If it is not showing WMPLAYER, then you might have there some button that allows you to change it and tell it to open such a file-type with WMPLAYER (maybe you need to put in the full path to WMPLAYER).


    BUT :
    Like I said, I might be wrong here, not knowing how this kind of things work on your system :oops:
    So I really hope that someone, with knowledge about XP-home with SP2, will jump in here and try to help you !

    Take care !
    Cheers, Jan.
     
  9. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :cool: wow my budy jan come to the rescue but not wayne or galvin where my wayne and galvin be good stick

    :D lolllll anyways i did what you said xp a littile diffrent but i found the file asochiation box all say windows media player

    could it be the scan control in tds you think i included all video formats to?
     
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Blaze :)

    No, I don't think that the Scan Control configuration in your TDS-3 is involved here. But we need Wayne/Gavin/Jason here to be sure about that ;)

    I have to admit that I am really puzzled about what is causing this behaviour on your system... :oops:
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Blaze, do i understand the files were played correctly with the Windows Media Player before the SP2 update?
    Would it help to update (reinstall will be complicated) the Windows Media Player and look carefully if all file formats are well associated to it?
    I keep having problems with mpeg files in various players and updated that part in all of them, quicktime, realplayer/oneplayer, etc but i keep getting warnings all time for that in every player, so i try not to worry......
    Maybe mpeg doesn't like my win98.
     
  12. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    ill if i right click on file and select open with windows media player movie play fine

    but if i double click on it tds opens up instead doing a long as scan

    all formats to windows media 10 is asochiated corectly

    but the the main guy said if i right click tds is in bold letters

    really strange
     
  13. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Blaze,

    In your first posting you said that you had this problem with "incomplet avi movies or badly coded movies".

    Do you have the problem only with incomplete movies, or with all movies?
     
  14. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    i reformat videos seems like all mpeg 1 has this problem
     
  15. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Oops sorry Blaze

    I'm afraid I don't understand that (my fault !)

    Very strange !


    For Wayne, Gavin, Jason :
    May I please ask you guys to jump in here and try to give some help ?
    Thanks !
     
  16. Sweetie(*)(*)

    Sweetie(*)(*) Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Venus
    just a thought, i had a partial download of an mpeg movie which had a hidden ext .IIV [viiri i think] awhile ago, it was picked up by my av [NOD32] as newheur virus. did a little investigating an it seem possible that there are programers being paid by anti p2p [movie studios riaa etc] to place such things in movie and music files. for what pourpose i dont know but it was very strange because the program i was using warns of exectuing files as possibly containing virus etc.
    no such warning with this 1.
    i was also told that my av probably shouldnt have been able 2 pick this up, mabey the advanced hueristics, whatever im very glad that i had nod32 an not another av. probably not related 2 your problem but i thought i would mention it as im not sure what that file would do if not detected, the movie previewed perfectly, only catch was it wanted internet access.
     
  17. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi,

    It doesn't seem like a problem to me. If you download a file and its REAL extension is MPG, it will open with whatever is associated with .MPG files, its that simple. If the file is not complete and the program you use to download puts another extension on the end, right-click the file and choose OPEN WITH. Or open the movie playing software, and go to FILE > OPEN and then open the incomplete file :)
     
  18. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    sound like you calling blaze a lier im starting to notice not only my posts go un notice by you guys except for jooskey and jan but my feed back as if i dont know **** so maybe a picture will paint it for you

    after even useing a video encoder and reformating movies tds still opens any movie file even if it is assochiated with windows media player

    here look

    HERE HOW IT STARTS I GO TO MY DESKTOP OPEN MY PORN FOLDER
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D OPEN UP MY PORN STASH
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :cool: DOUBLE CLICK ON MY PORN VIDEO :mad: AND LOOK SEE I TELLING TRUTH
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    I even went out of my way to get sccreen shot of right click propertys windows media [;layer file assochiaton if a picture says a thousand words bamn

    i feel lately you gus dont like me or just dont think i know what im talking about

    same with pg3 crashing on my pc you post replys to every one but me in the pg3 beta thread

    so frome now on im post every damn bug in dcs products with lots of pictures seem the only way you will adress it then

    by :mad:
     
  22. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D oh also note that my porn vidio stills show nothing offensive that you would not see in pg 13 there fully clothed or in skimpy outfits not wanting to go algaints toss

    basicly same thing to see at a bikini website

    didnt want to offend woman or any one at this forum

    you cant even tell that it porn lol other then i say it is

    but see i wasnt makeing this stuff up oh by the way i have no other movies then these to show you an example only videos on this pc are lol um those kind and the stills are alot dirtyer then these ones lol so i used the cleanst ones so not to offend
     
  23. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Blaze, can understand your frustrations (in the files extensions matter)
    but nobody is calling you a liar, just trying to get to understand what is happening.
    If you rightclick the file what do the properties tell you, and when you cick once to see the file associations to open with .... ?
    There could be one other solution which is to disable the rightclick option from TDS for exe files, just to try, you can always have it back with the "rightclickall.ss3" from the usersubmitted TDS scripts.
    Gavin ever posted a few times that undo rightclick scan file but i don't see it that quick for you.

    Is it all time with the mpeg files or every avi of whatever the extensions of movies you have? And only those on your HD or also when tried to play from DVD?

    Thanks for a glimpse of your images. Didn't know about your travel agency to south sea beaches and palm trees.
     
  24. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :) yup you mean this also file asochiations are already on last pic it shows windows media player as default device for playing movies
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    yup it every video format now damn

    so it kinda anoying

    maybe it tds and window media player 10
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.