New Beta

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by ronjor, Jul 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    That is NOT TRUE. I have a machine that is far superior to most out there and I CAN see an impact from KAV 4.5 and 5. I don't know what you disable but on default settings KAV slows XP down by noticable amounts.
    ;) Not trying to start anything just stating facts I have observed on 3 different pc. ;)
     
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    I agree with you.

    I have tested the KAV 4.5 on my older pc (PIII 500, 320MB) and my computer was very slow and with nod32 it didn't...
    The KAV 5.0 is much better about this...
     
  3. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I have KAV 4.5 trial on a 3GHz Dell Dimension with 1GB RAM. I have everything enabled for scanning except email. I don't use email scanners. I see no slowdown at all. I did see significant slowdown with KAV 5.0 though. That is probably because it caused immediate, severe fragmentation mostly in System Restore files (where I have about 80 restore points) and rendered System Restore useless. I would not put KAV any flavor on my older W98SE box as I would expect slowdown.
     
  4. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Hi Folks:

    I'm gonna install the new beta now.Any recommendations about best setup for it ? And about lsass.exe problem ? Has it been fixed ?

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
  5. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    I would turn on "automatically deny download of infected file" in the IMON setup by choosing the Expert setup mode when installing. I like the splash screen when malware is identified. :D

    The lsass.exe problem seems to be specific to some machines. I have 12 machines running the beta with Windows XP SP1 (:cool: and Windows 2000 SP4 (4) and none of them have experienced this issue.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2004
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    As far as I'm concerned, no, the little mongrel just reappeared :mad:

    I started a new Beta thread about it. The previous pre-release had sorted the problem, arrived home this afternoon to find it popping it's little head back up, them thare varments have returned ;)

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Tomas

    Tomas Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Posts:
    216
    Hi all

    Just small note to default compatibility settings in HTTP scanner. All unknown (untested) programs are automatically set to higher compatibility. We need to fill the list of aprroved browsers (which works with high efficiency level set) with at most browsers as possible.
    So if your browser is not in the list, please set it to high efficiency level a use it for a while. If everything looks OK, send information from Compatibilitty settings dialog to beta2011@nod32.com, we will add the browser to the list.
    Also, if you meet any particular problem with browser (probably on specific webpage), please report this too.

    Regards

    Tomas
     
  8. webwude

    webwude Guest

    Hi !

    Will there be also a german version of the beta ?

    ww
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Depending on the feedbacks of beta testers, most likely we will give out also other language mutations of beta.
     
  10. webwude

    webwude Guest

    Nice info indeed ;)
    Then i will wait till the german beta version is released ;)

    Thx for your efforts,
    ww

    P.S. Could you give me a hint - will it be hours, days or weeks ?
     
  11. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hello, you'll probably think this a silly question. :rolleyes: On the bottom of main scanner are the choices "Scan" and "Clean", is there a difference in these functions. I tried "clean" last night and it looked just like an ordinary scan. I never noticed but maybe this was on last version. ;)
     

  12. I never understood why it was programmed this way, but "scan" will scan your system and tell you afterwards if anything is infected, etc. However, you can't clean from this point........If anything is found during the "scan", then you must select "clean" upon which the entire process will be repeated again and as NOD finds each problem, you will have the option at that time to clean, etc.

    Don't understand why when scanning and if something is found, you can't clean it at that time. Why the repetition of the entire scan process.....
     
  13. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,885
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Ooops I installed it over the previous version, but I haven´t had any problems (yet anyway :) )Works perfectly, no speedloss.
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    118,857
    Location:
    Texas
    Well? :D
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Stan999

    Stan999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
    Why don't you just click the "Clean" button the first time to start the scan instead of the "Scan" button?
     
  16. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    If you click the clean button first then the scan cannot be unattended as it will hang on any nasty it finds (assuming you have it set to ask you what to do) which is the recommended action. Thus, the recommendation that one first run a "scan only" scan and that can be while you are asleep, etc. There is no need, unless a nasty is found, to then run an attended "clean" scan.
     
  17. Stan999

    Stan999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
    Well now, what I do for an unattended scan is mark "Clean" and if uncleanable mark "no action".

    I don't think one should should mark "Delete" for an unattended scan but I don't mind if it tries to Clean it and then for uncleanable items "no action".

    For the very few times it may find a nasty it can't clean I then run the scan again with "offer action"
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If you do it Mele's way then you can scan, in the unlikely event that it finds something while unattended, after checking the log, you can then run a clean which has already been set to your desired perimiters, I have it set to offer action... or you can simply go to the infected location and right click and scan that particular file, instead of your entire system...

    Cheers :D
     
  19. Stan999

    Stan999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
    That does sound like the best way.
     
  20. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I don't get much so maybe that is why, but I don't think NOD32 has ever been able to clean a nasty.
     
  21. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I had Nod32 logs full of Netsky at work, it does the job very well ;)

    Cheers :D
     
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Of course NOD is able (and has always been able) to clean viruses and macro viruses which infect other files. Worms propagating by email, trojans and other kinds of malware which do not infect other files can only be deleted as they consist only of a viral code.
     
  23. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Yes I know NOD32 can clean viruses but I thought we were talking about worms or about a virus that hasn't infected any other files and NOD finds it on right click scan after download and you try to clean it and you almost never can. You have to delete it. I thought we were discussing this kind of situation. Sorry, I misunderstood.
     
  24. webwude

    webwude Guest

    Any news on more different language versions of the beta ?

    thx,
    ww
     
  25. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Regarding worms, there is nothing to clean, the same for a virus that hasn't infected anything, there is nothing to clean, deletion is the only thing you can do with them, unless you want to keep them around for some reason.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.