New Beta

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by ronjor, Jul 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2004
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    System info from new beta.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Ahhhh, he's off and running :D

    So, what do you think?

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Zip2 being caught...
     

    Attached Files:

    • Zip2.JPG
      Zip2.JPG
      File size:
      51.3 KB
      Views:
      652
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    I was camped on Eset's page and they still slipped it by me! :D

    I see no difference in speed, which I like personally. I like my speed!

    I'll just have to go along here and see what happens.

    You have had no problems with the beta, is that correct?
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, no other than the GUI staying put after booting, it has been running like a dream.

    The lsass error seams to have been fixed as well, haven't seen it around for a while...

    And I have it on good authority that Trojan detection through IMON using Advanced Heuristics is about to be greatly improved :D

    Cheers :D
     
  7. The thing says if not applicable to just click leave or terminate.....however, I don't see a "leave" button to click in that screenshoto_O??
     
  8. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    I was hoping it would be in this beta, but doesn't look like the AH module was changed, guess they want us to test these new features first before mixing it up more. :D

    Btw do you guys have to press terminate 2 times for the eicar.com and the .txt one, and 4 times each for the zipped, and double zipped before the message dissappears?
     
  9. Stan999

    Stan999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
    I am testing it on an old low end machine, PIII 500, 256 Megabytes Memory.
    With all options marked I am not seeing any speed problem. :)
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Yes, guess they want to make sure you are going against their advice to proceed with the download, when a virus has been detected...

    Cheers :D
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are correct, they have missed out the "Leave" button, which probably is a good thing. The advice is to "Terminate", if you try to close the Window, it bounces straight back up, and you have to try and close it again...

    I think they need to alter the advice message and remove "leave".

    Cheers :D
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    It will get your attention! Maybe a rename button would be a good feature too since xp tends to slap files in documents and settings in a hurry.
     
  13. Yes, but my point is that they give you TWO choices and only one is present. If they only give you one button to choose from, then why the advice telling you to choose from the TWO......leave or terminateo_O
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I missed that, then reread your post, and took another look at the screen shot, and edited my message to reflect that...

    Cheers :D
     
  15. profhsg

    profhsg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Yes it does warn upon downloading the eicar test files, but remember that it only works if the IMON setting for the downloading program is "maximum efficiency." When set for "maximum compatability" IMON seems to do nothing about downloading an infected file. This means no meaningful protection for those of us who use a different browser which can't be used with the max eff. setting (in my case Maxthon 1.0.0178--downloads simply froze) or who use a download manager which ESET warns must be set in max compatability mode.

    Update: My Maxthon now seems to be downloading perfectly well with NOD32 beta. I have no idea what the problem was, but I'm glad it's gone.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2004
  16. jg88swe

    jg88swe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    181
    Why does NOD32 scan .gif and .jpg files?
    Is that really necessary?

    Notice that on the new ver.
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas

    Where do you see that?
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Where are you seeing this?

    Cheers :D
     
  19. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    Hmm? I use Maxthon 1.0.0178 and it detected it on higher compatability... Yours is automatically on max comp?
     
  20. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Same for me...
     
  21. Azn_Tweaker

    Azn_Tweaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Canada, Toronto
  22. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Did you guys uninstall first??

    Ruben
     
  23. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    I uninstalled and deleted Eset from program files before installing the beta.
     
  24. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Ok, is that also recommended by ESET - sounds logical though

    Ruben
     
  25. jg88swe

    jg88swe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    181
    Check "Scanning .jpg & .gif" threat in NOD32 version 2 forum..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.