new avast pre release 6.0.1086

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, Apr 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    from vlk on the avast forum:

    Hi everyone,

    here I am again. (I know, I know, it's been a while... Smiley)

    We will soon be releasing a new program update of avast; and as usual, we're making it available for public testing a few days before the official release.

    This is hopefully going to be a smooth service release, designed to fix some of the issues of the original v6.0.1000 build.

    Here's the list of the most important changes:
    - solved an incompatibility with ZoneAlarm (WinXP)
    - improved installation of the WebRep plugins (especially Firefox)
    - solved a crash condition in the avast sandbox
    - setup programs now smaller by ~20%
    - Community features and the Welcome screen can now be turned on/off directly from program settings
    - solved an incompatibility with Outpost firewall
    - solved a bug related to the AutoSandbox offer (WinXP)
    - gadget can now be removed by simply closing it
    - new setup icons

    And new in v6.0.1086:
    - more fixes in the AutoSandbox processing
    - added Chrome WebRep plugin
    - optimizations in the File System Shield's transient cache
    - various stability/compatibility improvements

    Download links:
    Free AV: http://files.avast.com/files/beta/6.0.1086/setup_av_free.exe
    Pro AV: http://files.avast.com/files/beta/6.0.1086/setup_av_pro.exe
    Internet Security: http://files.avast.com/files/beta/6.0.1086/setup_ais.exe

    You can either install from scratch, or over an existing installation of avast (any version). Users of the previous pre-release builds (6.0.1021, 6.0.1027, 6.0.1035, 6.0.1044) can also use the built-in program updater.

    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  2. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    It seems like avast! has taken a leaf out of Chrome's dev-cycle-book. Rapid resolution of issues, great transparency, superb dialogue between consumer & creator and not thinking of application performance as an afterthought. Way to go avast!. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  3. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    yeah, i was actually thinking the same thing. good on 'em for rolling out program updates quickly.
     
  4. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    let's wait and see first....:cautious:
     
  5. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    care to elaborate? :rolleyes:
     
  6. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    WebRep in Google Chrome development build is still grey...dev build ver12...when starting Chrome. Have to do a reload and reload. Even in "incognito". Don't know about SRWare Iron though..will re-install later. Might be with stable versions only. If it's so then I'll do a restore and "wait and see"...

    With the previous builds 6.0.1035/6.0.1044 I cannot update manually. The vps update says that it's only for version 6.0.1000. I do not know why this Pre-release cannot accomodate manual upating. Nobody cared to answer my post there (avast forums) weeks and weeks ago. So I stopped posting there.

    I wonder when will it become "final"....? ver6.0.1000 which accommodates the vps manual updates is/cannot be called stable as it has still many issues(such was corrected with 1035/1044 towards 1086). Just retaining AIS on only 1 pc now(used to have all with AIS). The rest of the license I have will remain unused until I decide to use it.

    There's still a WMPlayer problem with some French guy that is still not solved there I see.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  7. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,133
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    got it and thanks
     
  8. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Waiting for the final release to be able to test it. Until now, Congrats to Avast!
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,289
    Location:
    England
    Hope they sort out their download page at some time.

    http://www.avast.com/free-antivirus-download

    A lot of folk when selecting the free av download on this page are faced with a selection popup they are unable to complete because the 'no thanks, I only want the free version' option is always greyed out, and you cannot x out either.
     
  10. chilajiao

    chilajiao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    between avast and avia
    I choose the latter
     
  11. sbwhiteman

    sbwhiteman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Posts:
    63
    Just tried it. While the free choice is indeed gray, it's still clickable.

    Regards.
     
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    When you consider that most test of Avast only involves the file shield, imagine what extra behavioral shield, sandbox, web shield, script shield and webrep would provide!

    The must mostly sell to companies, as a consumer why pay for an AV, when one can get such a great package for free?
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,289
    Location:
    England
    Not for me, or other folk I know. On Opera or IE it isn't clickable.
     
  14. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    That's strange, just tried and the link is clickable here.
    Opera as my browser.
     
  15. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    Is "avia" a new antivirus that we dont know about or a chicken disease ?! :)
    I would choose Avast if i were you.

    Glad to see they ruled out some bugs.I ll try the build.
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    could it be Avira?
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,289
    Location:
    England
    Turns out it happens if you have MVSP host file:)
     
  18. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    yes good job avast
    now its working good with firefox 4

    thanx
     
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    And Chrome as well...they are really spoiling us!!!
     
  20. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Staff one week ago I had some problems with the latest build (6.0.1044):

    Apparently the behavioral shield wasn't working!
    The shield Script only works in IE9 32Bits?

    Someone is with some kind of problems?

    Virtualization of Avast! at the same level of Sandboxie?
    There is some kind of difference in protection on 64 bit systems compared with 32 bit?

    I am grateful to those who respond.
     
  21. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Take a look at that..just 3 days shy of releasing ver6.0.1086..now final huh. That was 4 RC/beta that they released for users to get their hands on. The prior versions should have been "public-beta" rather than "Pre-release" imho. Will still observe prior updating to the "final release".
     
  22. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    And here I thought the community features and gadget thing was done in the last update.
     
  23. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Take a look at replies 17/18 and 20 here Oh well...I'll just wait and see again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.