new avast pre release 5.0.584

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, Jun 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61045.0


    What's new
    Most notable improvements include:
    - improved interaction with Windows System Restore; namely, avast now auto-repairs itself when it detects a corrupted VPS due to a System Restore (or other reasons)
    - aswSP.sys: solved a minor stability issue
    - Solved a problem related to inserting of the license files
    - Added the activation codes feature
    - Improvements in the avast! sandbox
    - Performance improvements in the Behavior Shield
    - avast Screen saver now accessible even in 64-bit Windows
    - Stability improvement in aswTdi.sys (solved a compatibility program with AVG)
    - IS firewall: solved a potential BSOD condition
    - Various improvements in the avast sandbox module
    - minor fixes in the GUI
    - added Catalan and Belorussian language packs
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  2. Persian Boy

    Persian Boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    44
    No boot scan for x64!
    No behavior shield for x64!

    and one thing more "- avast Screen saver now accessible even in 64-bit Windows" what that means? I have a x64 and Avast screen saver works. Is that somethings that i missed?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Are the "ads" still present in advast??
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yup sadly and it seems no button to turn them off still. also the x64 boot time scan will NOT come till version 5.1
     
  5. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Inquiring minds want to know.

    Edit: Ah, unfortunate. :thumbd:
     
  6. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Are you referring to the medium size banner at the bottom of the GUI?

    Seriously, is that going to put anyone off?
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    It's just a small banner only visible when you open the GUI, and only on the status screen or whatever it's called. BTW you can block it by adding program.avast.com to your hosts file.
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    127.0.0.1 program.avast.com

    to host file
     
  9. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    dam it works...
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    some things may not work right if using the internet security version as directly stated by avast.. it works fine for the free on and the pro version though
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    IS doesn't have ads, so using this is kinda pointless.
     
  12. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yes it does.. well depends on how you look at it. imo it is a ad to some its not..i dont like it myself but i have been assured in a future revision soon there will be a way to either turn it off or hide it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.