new adobe flash downloader

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by lunarlander, Aug 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    121
    Hi,

    Anyone notice that Adobe is now making users use their own downloader instead of giving you the flash download directly ? Also they automatically erase the downloader once the installation gets going.

    This is bad design. 1. It means I have to turn off outbound firewall protection to allow this downloader to do its download, or create a firewall rule for it. 2. I also need to run the same flash upgrade on multiple machines. That means I have first make a copy of the downloader before running it's duplicate. And it also means I would have to disable the firewall on multiple machines when I run it.

    Why did they have to change from its previous installer. That was nice clean and I can use the same file to update multiple machines, without tickering with the firewall.
     
  2. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    Tell me about it :(

    i used to update Flash Through Proxy through a Virtual Machine

    "because i don't trust Ultrasurf and it's the easiest one to Setup"

    anyway Now i can't update it because of stupid adobe and embargo
    shiznet

    My life just keeps getting better and better:doubt:
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    121
    Thanks FanJ
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    You're welcome lunarlander.

    Please let us know whether using the direct download links did help you.
     
  6. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Built in flash master race?
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Sorry, I don't understand your posting o_O
    You have to make clear what you are saying; apart from that, please understand that not every member here is a native English speaking person.

    Having said that, I still do recommend to use the direct download links as posted so many times at the Update Alerts Forum.
    We do have the Update Alerts Forum for some reason.....
     
  8. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I'm native English speaking and I have no idea what he meant either. o_O

    Maybe he will explain it to us. :)
     
  9. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    What I mean to say is that if you use Chrome you don't have to worry about this -- Flash is installed and handled by the browser.
     
  10. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Adobe disappoints me most of the time. If there were any other way to reliably do Flash, I would do it!
     
  11. Gobbler

    Gobbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Posts:
    270
    If you download Flash with Firefox 6, it downloads the whole installer file instead of the downloader and this is not only for Firefox but Flash for all browsers downloaded via Firefox 6.
     
  12. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    It wouldn't hurt my feelings a bit if we could get to the point that Flash is not needed anymore.
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,980
    Location:
    U.S.A.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.