New Acronis User - True Image Questions

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by snmavronis, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snmavronis

snmavronis Registered Member

Hello, I'm a new Acronis customer and a first time True Image user. My workplace bought True Image with Universal Restore for two 24x7 mission critical computers (Server 2003 and XP workstation) that control our water treatment plant operations. We are backing up daily from each computer to USB external hard drives. We also want to make periodic full CD image backups as well.

I've just installed the software and made an initial full image backup and scheduled incrementals to run once a day. I also made a bootable rescue media CD. I'm still learning all the software features and options based on the Help feature and the Acronis support webpage. I want to make sure I can do a bear metal restore during any disaster recovery event. I don't know exactly what to expect since we don't have the luxury of a system to fully test it on yet.

Can anyone recommend a proper way to setup backup jobs? I'm worried about having one full backup with daily incrementals appended to the same file. Should there be multiple backup job schedules and full vs. incrementals? I'm worried about the restore process and how to deal with many incrementals that have accumulated over time since the full backup.

We also are running a SQL database so I'm concerned about the backup option regarding temporarily suspending and restarting the SQL service. I don't know the batch file command lines to do that. Should I manually stop the service before making a CD image for example, and what about our regular daily image backups to the external USB hard drive too?