Never thought I'd say this but, I have to be honest.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rodneym, Oct 18, 2018.

  1. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271
    I have read what many here have had to say about 360 Total Security, and concerning where it is made, I had said "no way in he--".

    But today I said to myself, 90% of the AV's come from a foreign nation. Why not give it a try.

    So I found a good discount for the premium edition, and reverted to a clean Macrium Image of C:, and installed the software.

    Now I usually report to you guys how AV's run on my PC. I know this PC very well, since I spend so much time with it, and built it myself.

    Many AV's have been fast on my PC. Cylance and This last edition of Kaspersky, have been very fast on my machine.

    But this 360 TS, is amazing. Apps open very fast, web pages have no lag at all, explorer opens differently, (this is hard to explain), it's as if explorer floats open, its so smooth.

    Anyway this is just for you consuming pleasure.
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,864
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Which AV engines do you have enabled?
     
  3. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271
    all of them.
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,864
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Great. :thumb:
    Thnx for sharing your experience. Might give it a try.
     
  5. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    why would you buy premium when it's free... the firewall module isn't worth the premium.
    it's using Bitdefender sigs, and its sandbox can't be set to quaratine like you could with Comodo, aka useless.
    lasted probably 20 minutes on my VM, buggy and weak af.
    you won't find the mighty hidden golden egg, there is a reason why people doesn't use certain products and uses others.
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    USA
    That's a win for me. You should never use your own country's AV.
     
  7. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271
    Ever heard of Comodo? It's free and I bought it once too.... It's called support. Even Chinese people's time is not free.... Like healthcare, if something is free, how do the people performing the job, get paid (A good wage).
     
  8. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271
    U should IF they make a good one, care to name a few ?
     
  9. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271
    IN fact... I like it so much, when my subscription runs out, I think I'll buy it again, especially if I find another 40% discount.
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,786
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Hah ha. Seems I felt and said the exact same thing about 360TS before it let a Ransomware come thru and encrypt a bunch of files without so much as a whimper. To be fair though, that's also when Ransomware was just beginning to spread and making itself known to the computing world. Aside from that, it had been the longest running AV I ever kept on my machines until swearing them off forever, except on the Windows 10 unit :D

    All the luck though that it works and is everything expected for end user security for those who absolutely require one.

    We don't use or need them any longer except on 10 which is not so shabby anymore WD.
     
  11. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271

    You mean u like Windows Defender on Win 10 ? Is that right.

    I would use it IF produced the speed of 360, Cylance, or Kaspersky on my PC...
     
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,786
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Well I agree if performance of it doesn't meet personal standards, that's a turn off easy. Lucky for me I don't use 10 as often as most since 8.1 dances circles around their experimental model for me.

    But yes, on the Windows 10 unit it is fully functional and is built-in already so it runs AS-IS on that one.

    However it's also not exclusive either. There are Third-Party security apps active that prop up and support what WD might let pass by it, which is not been much lately, in fact none but then my attention is strictly with 8.1.
     
  13. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271

    COOL....Why do you use 8.1 ? Soon no updates, Win 10 (I think) will be a perpetual update / upgraded OS
     
  14. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    :argh::argh::argh::argh:
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,786
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I use 8.1 for the exact same reason Windows 7 diehards will never part with their version. BECAUSE IT RUNS SUPER FLAWLESS AND IS SIMPLE TO SECURE AND MAINTAIN-minus the constant bugs and hassles the Windows 10 team grieves their users with.

    And no outside forced interruptions as in updates whether you want them or not.
     
  16. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,864
    Location:
    Slovenia
    8.1 will get updates till 2023.
     
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,786
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :thumb:
     
  18. rodneym

    rodneym Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    271
    I have a copy, might try it again. Hated the start menu in 8
     
  19. longshots

    longshots Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    Australia
    As did I, also ditto with W10. That's why we have Classic Shell.
    Or had - I know it's no longer supported, but neither is W7, and how many people at Wilders still use that?
    Options like Start9 >>> Classic-Start >>> Open-Shell still not good enough to replace Classic Shell - IMHO.
     
  20. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,786
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I still use Classic Shell. Works as always
     
  21. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    I liked how light, but China spy on ppl
     
  22. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,213
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I remember an unusual amount of outgoing network activity coming from one of our university computers running 360. This was about a year ago, and the system normalized once 360 was purged.

    Still not sure what that was about, that was also the time when they were in the news for allegedly stealing data.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.