Networking problem with F-Secure Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Simon6776, Apr 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon6776

Simon6776 Registered Member

Hi Folks,

I am confused by the Trusted Network Adapter in F-Secure IS. I wanted to connect two computers by Ethernet via my 2Wire 2700HGV router last night, but Windows wouldn't even let me view the workgroup, and I kept getting an error message saying 'Home is not accessible', and something about administrator settings. Well, I am an administrator, and there are no other users on the computer, so this baffled me for hours. In the end, I stumbled upon the Trusted Network Adapter drop down menu in FSIS, chose my network card, which also specified the IP of the computer on the network, and once I allowed this, I could then view the workgroup.

I am now totally confused as to whether to allow this or not, because it says in the Help pages that this can be a security risk. If I don't, it seems I can't network my PCs, if I do, am I opening myself up to the internet with no protection? I have enabled File & Printer Sharing, and Windows Network Browsing, but the machines will still not see each other on the network, without the Trusted Network Adapter enabled.

Please can someone clarify this, as it's driving me nuts!

TIA,

Simon.

2. 19monty64

19monty64 Registered Member

I had the same problem, and put in my adapter, same as you. I didn't worry about the security issue, as BelArc-Advisor says the same thing about even having a network. The only security issue that I'd worry about is that if one pc gets infected, the chances are more likely for the other one to get infected. One pc has FSIS and the other has AntiVir and ThreatFire, so both have HIPS to protect themselves...

3. Simon6776