Network errors after installing NOD32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by GSte, Oct 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GSte

    GSte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    Since installing NOD32 I have started getting errors when I boot up my computer. The desktop will start to load, the NOD32 box will appear in the middle of the screen, and then nothing will happen for a few minutes, no network connection icon appears in the taskbar, and when it does finally, it shows as having no connectivity. A look in the event viewer gives the following error messages:

    'TimeProvider NtpClient: An error occurred during DNS lookup of the manually configured peer 'time.windows.com, 0x1'. NtpClient will try the DNS lookup again in 15 minutes. The error was: A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host. (0x80072751)'

    Or if someone else (in our network of 3) has their machine switched on I get an error message saying that 'The browser was unable to retrieve a list of servers from the master browser............'.

    Can anyone help with this? I don't know much about networking to be honest, but I didn't have any trouble with these errors until I installed NOD32. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, welcome to Wilders.

    I would suggest repairing Winsock

    ALTERNATIVELY you can do the following:

    For Windows XP:

    Click on Start
    Click on Run
    Type in cmd
    Click on OK
    Type in netsh winsock reset
    (Please note there are spaces between the netsh and winsock and reset)

    Press ENTER
    Restart your computer.


    Then repair IMON; see post number 55 HERE

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. GSte

    GSte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the reply.... I don't know if the winsock fix will help though. I forgot to mention that when this happens, if I reboot it works fine, connects to the network and internet great..... sometimes it takes ages to shut down the computer though. Does this suggest anything else, or would you still suggest the winsock fix? A bit worried about trying it because of all the 'DO NOT TRY THIS UNLESS YOU HAVE BEEN INSTRUCTED TO DO SO' messages:)
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I would still try repairing Winsock and after this IMON.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. GSte

    GSte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    The Winsock fix solved this problem. Many thanks:thumb:
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.