Network Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by chemaster, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chemaster

    chemaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    True Image Home

    I am think of buying a portable network hard-drive that would plug into the RJ-45 ethernet port.

    However, does True Image Home software have drivers for these drive so that I can boot directly from the CD rescue disk and restore my image from a network drive connect to the ethernet RJ-45 port on my computer?

    If so which model would you recommend that has been well tested and has good proformance?
     
  2. chemaster

    chemaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    8
  3. chemaster

    chemaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    No one have any experience with network drives?

    Support?
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Acronis will tell you that it supports NAS in general which translated means you pay your money and you take your chance.

    Have a look at this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=127131

    You can also do a forum search for: Buffalo NAS

    (if you put NAS in by itself it will likely say too short. I hate this forum SW for searching.)
     
  5. ee1

    ee1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    I am backing up two notebook systems, using TI 9 on one and TI 10 Home on the other to a SUSE 10 Linux box running SAMBA as a NAS server. The backups and restores have worked great. For storage, I bought a cheap pata 500GB drive, and put it in the SUSE 10 system.

    Eric
     
  6. rrand

    rrand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I had occasion to replace one of my systems' C drive and tried to do a restore from a networked drive on another system but the Acronis boot/restore disc only recognised the 2 local drives. I had to load windows onto the new drive and setup the network and then copy down the backup file to the local D drive and restore from that.

    It worked ok but it would have been good to restore directly from the networked drive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.