Network Drive vs. NAS vs. FTP

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by OzRon, Dec 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OzRon

    OzRon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    The land of Oz
    I currently have TIH-9 and am considering upgrading to either TIH-10 or TIW-9.1.

    I need clarification on the following, specifically relating to IMAGE (not file) backups.

    I understand that TI Home (9 or 10) will not let me backup a second computer (peer-to-peer network) from the first computer, and that this requires TIW (with 2 licenses and at least the "agent" installed on the second computer).

    But I am less clear on backing up a "network drive" that is not a PC.

    If I have an external drive with an associated drive letter, it seems that I can create a backup of it with TIH-9 if it is a USB or Firewire drive, but NOT if it's an Ethernet-connected drive. Is this correct?

    If so, when I shortly change my external USB drive to one of the single-drive "NAS" products now available, do I lose the ability to create image backups of that external drive - whether with TIH-9 or TIH-10?

    Since such a drive is not a Windows PC, it's presumably not a candidate for installing the TI Agent - so does TIW-9.1 help me at all?

    Also, my FTP knowledge is minimal but I understand that a new feature of TIH-10 is "Save to FTP". Since many NAS drives include an FTP server, does this mean that TIH-10 allows me to write a backup TO a NAS drive, but TIH-9 does not? Or am I missing the point of that new feature?

    What Acronis product(s) do I need in order to both Backup and Restore from and to a NAS drive?

    OzRon
     
  2. OzRon

    OzRon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    The land of Oz
    In case anyone else has the same questions, here is a reply from Acronis Support to the same issue later sent to them...

    Acronis True Image 10.0 Home does not support Network Attached Storages but Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation does.

    (I'm still hoping for an explanation of what the new TIH10 "Save to FTP" feature allows us to do, as a NAS drive with an FTP Server appears not to be a candidate for use with TIH10.)
     
  3. OzRon

    OzRon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    The land of Oz
    Can nobody out there offer clarification?

    TIH10 is supposed to include a new "Direct backup to FTP servers" feature (or "Save to FTP").

    So I asked Acronis Support for confirmation that while my TIH9 won't allow backup to an FTP-server-enabled NAS drive, TIH10 now will.

    Their reply merely stated:

    Acronis True Image 10.0 Home does not support Network Attached Storages (but Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation does).

    It would seem that either the reply was incorrect, or that there is now support for backup to some FTP servers, but I can't find out what is excluded. (Unless Acronis means "Backup to FTP servers other than those implemented in a NAS drive"?)

    A follow-up request to support remains unanswered, and no replies to this thread have been received.

    Anyone out there?
     
  4. gyropilot

    gyropilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    OzRon,

    Yesterday I downloaded TI Home version 10 to trial (test). I have a FreeNAS network attached storage server which support CIFS (Samba), FTP access, and other methods to its drives. Do a Google search on FreeNAS if you need more info on that.

    I successfully backed up both the internal HD and an external USB HD attached to one of the PC's on my home LAN to the FreeNAS server via CIFS *and* via FTP. I wanted to make darn sure FTP worked before I purchase TI, because FTP transfer is faster to the FreeNAS server than CIFS.

    IN short, FTP does work on TI version 10 Home... at least on my setup. :)

    Best regards,

    John L.
     
  5. OzRon

    OzRon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    The land of Oz
    Thank you John. I appreciate your reply.

    It leaves me believing that Acronis' contention that TIH10 does not support NAS may have been meant as a reply only to the first part of my original post (Ie. backing up FROM a NAS drive), while they missed or ignored the next part (backing up TO a NAS drive).

    Thanks again,
    OzRon
     
  6. coopertt

    coopertt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I have true image 10 home also and I attempted to do a full backup to an internet FTP site. had no problems configuring and connecting all went very smoothly. But 2 days later trying to do a full backup of 53g of data (DSL connection) it was not half done. I canceled it not sure why it was taking so long.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.