Netlimiters firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by eBBox, Jan 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
  2. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi eBBox,
    I have installed this again to refresh my memory.

    It is an Application firewall, I dont see any possiblity to set packet filter rules (example: To set rules to allow UDP but block TCP for an application).
    There are 3 Zones set as default, these can be edited, but I have not found a way to add a zone (example: Add a blocked IP zone).
    From the attached pic, you can see the basic rule setup. You will note, that there is a need to allow inbound from the internet, to allow the replys from such outbound as HTTP. This could be a problem for users who are directly connected to the Internet (example: Inbound connections)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There are "filters" (or conditions) that can be added to the rules: Such as "time allowed for the access", "Ip`s for the connection" and "Ports used/available"
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There are checks on the Applications location that are attempting Internet access, so simple leaktest attempt was intercepted (Leaktest 1.2): I will have to go offline to check to see if application integrity is checked (and not just location)

    Update:
    Only the location of the Application is checked, if the Application that is already allowed internet access is replaced or changed, then the firewall will not alert about this (there is no checksum/hash on the applications)
     
  5. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Thx Stem :) :thumb:

    I've tried it myself but couldent figure out how good it actually was and what it was "covering" :rolleyes:

    So your conclusion would be that if you only run xp firewall and netlimiter it would be a okay replacement?
     
  6. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi eBBox,
    You would require some additional inbound filtering. If you where behind a router, then I can see no serious problem using this firewall (apart from checksum/hash_ you could add, as example, SSM free to check on this). To replace the XP firewall, no, as I have not checked on the inbound filtering for Netlimiter.

    Edit: I do not know if you can run both XP firewall and Netlimiter
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  7. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I am behind a router so this one is possible for me...but I need a resource friendly one. How is the ram useage and does it creep up after a few days?

    All I really want is simple application outbound. With no hangups or high resource useage for an older machine.
     
  8. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi mercurie,
    My test PC went down (chipset fan), so I have had to re-install to check on mem usage.

    Currently:
    NLClient_ between 4,000k and 18,000k (mem usage increases when the UI is active, but then drops back when closed
    nlsvc_ 2,908k
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.