Net7 security switch

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by georgepaul, Aug 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. georgepaul

    georgepaul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Does anyone have experience/advice/recommendation regarding this device found at: www.net7technologies.com ?
    Even tho this is a device, not software, could it be considered a service and stay in this forum? It was advertised in PCWORLD mag.

    Thanks
     
  2. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hello .
    If you use a cable or DSL modem , just push the on off button . Most have them now . This device is a rip in my opinion . Instead of spending the money on that , just unplug your internet plug (ethernet or phone line ) . That easy . I bet they make a killing on such a device . Good luck to you and save your money
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    A button is nice, but I think Id rather save my money and just unplug my cable manually.
     
  4. georgepaul

    georgepaul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks guys, your advice is well taken - I'll save my money.
     
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,169
    Hello,
    I can sell similar devices that turn computers on and off, for $59.95.
    I really liked their fear mongering opening...
    Mrk
     
  6. acknsyn

    acknsyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Why is your device so expensive, they only sell for $39.95 and includes an ethernet cable!!

    I can see this being useful for someone morbidly obese, a disabled individual, or an extremely lazy person.
     
  7. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,097
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Can't you also just disable your 'Local Area Network' through 'Network Connections'? Can't someone write a batch file for that and sell it for $19.95? I could create a shortcut to Network Connections for $4.95 :D .

    Seriously though, I have been giving this some thought because my isp is upgrading and I could lose my modem that has a button. Is it just as safe to disable my LAC as it would be to pull the Ethernet cable? I appreciate any input.

    innerpeace
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.