Net7 security switch

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by georgepaul, Aug 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. georgepaul

    georgepaul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Does anyone have experience/advice/recommendation regarding this device found at: www.net7technologies.com ?
    Even tho this is a device, not software, could it be considered a service and stay in this forum? It was advertised in PCWORLD mag.

    Thanks
     
  2. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hello .
    If you use a cable or DSL modem , just push the on off button . Most have them now . This device is a rip in my opinion . Instead of spending the money on that , just unplug your internet plug (ethernet or phone line ) . That easy . I bet they make a killing on such a device . Good luck to you and save your money
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    A button is nice, but I think Id rather save my money and just unplug my cable manually.
     
  4. georgepaul

    georgepaul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks guys, your advice is well taken - I'll save my money.
     
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    Hello,
    I can sell similar devices that turn computers on and off, for $59.95.
    I really liked their fear mongering opening...
    Mrk
     
  6. acknsyn

    acknsyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Why is your device so expensive, they only sell for $39.95 and includes an ethernet cable!!

    I can see this being useful for someone morbidly obese, a disabled individual, or an extremely lazy person.
     
  7. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Can't you also just disable your 'Local Area Network' through 'Network Connections'? Can't someone write a batch file for that and sell it for $19.95? I could create a shortcut to Network Connections for $4.95 :D .

    Seriously though, I have been giving this some thought because my isp is upgrading and I could lose my modem that has a button. Is it just as safe to disable my LAC as it would be to pull the Ethernet cable? I appreciate any input.

    innerpeace
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.