Net Use Command And Acronis

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cfaice, Aug 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cfaice

    cfaice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I've been using Acronis True Image for personal use for many years now, and I am now looking to use it in a place of work.

    In order to make the imaging process as stream line as possible, I need to map network drives (which are also username / password protected).

    Is it at all possible to use the "net use" command and provide a username / password, so that once Acronis True Image has loaded, the mapped drives are pretty much a single click away?

    Cheers.
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    The answer is yes. Here is a sample from a batch file I use with V9: net use "\\Gateway\firewire" Password /user:Username.
     
  3. cfaice

    cfaice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    How are you running the batch file with Acronis?

    I'm looking at creating the rescue media, booting from that and having the mapped drives available from within the recovery console?
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    I'm running it as Pre/Post command under windows. You can't run a batch file using the rescue CD. You can specify the path \\servername\filename and then enter the username and password using the rescue cd but not automatically. I haven't done it using the rescue cd so I don't know if you get prompted for the password or not.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cfaice,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that drive mapping only exists in Windows environment under a particular account. The standalone version of Acronis True Image (full) operates in Linux environment and therefore cannot use Windows mapped drives. Please use the full UNC path (e.g. \\server\share\) instead.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.