NeovaGuard users - few questions

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by aigle, Apr 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I installed it after about a year and it,s looking nice this time:D .
    I have few Qs in my mind though.

    1- Any info about new version/ Vista plans etc?
    2- Is there an option to disconnect GUI like SSM.
    3- How to impor/ export rules?
    4- Does it covers outbound activity like SSM pro/ PS pro?

    Also how do u compare NG with PG and PS? What does Neova stands for BTW?

    Thanks
     
  2. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I have tried it shortly and it looks very nice software though it seems to have many bugs but it,s still beta and under development. Inspite of that it,s quite stable on my ssytem alongside Antivir, GeSWall and SensiveGuard.

    There is an option that is a way near to disconnected user interface of SSM.
    Preferences> Main configuration> Filter settings and set Standard Prompt Level to Never.
    By this way NG will automatically block behaviours like driver installation, global hooks etc but will still give popups on new executions etc.
     

    Attached Files:

    • NG.jpg
      NG.jpg
      File size:
      65.9 KB
      Views:
      665
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It,s much easier than SSM as like PS it makes a lot of rules automatically and gives less popups. Nice that here is option for File Protection as well.

    I will be waiting for newer version that is supposed to come sooner or later!
    New popups GUI looks very nice. See here

    http://www.neoava.com/weblog.htm
     

    Attached Files:

    • NG2.jpg
      NG2.jpg
      File size:
      46.2 KB
      Views:
      662
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Hi Aigle,
    Haven't tried it as yet but I have had a bit of input into the new version which may be released in a couple of weeks which I do intend to try out.
    And again:
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks Franklin, I will really wait for it.
    Automatic Rules creation and learning modes makes it much easier to use.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It seems very light indeed. Imazing!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      17.6 KB
      Views:
      567
  7. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Re: new gui outlook

    Wel I though it might be inappopriate to upload images separately.

    Ayway, very nice GUI. I am really impressed. Havn,t seen such GUI for a HIPS popups( PS-- cough, cough....). But it,s all personal preference afterall.
     
  9. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Re: application tab

    Ya I read it. I suspect it wil take months n months.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I also saw the screenshots, I´m not real excited about the non resizable window (same mistake as Prevx2) but I can´t wait to get my hands on this one, the plan is to run it alongside SSM Pro. :cool:
     
  12. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Not a good idea at all.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why not? I didn´t have any conflicts at all, plus NG covers some stuff that SSM does not. I agree, normally I wouldn´t advice to run 2 HIPS at the same time, but sometimes it is possible.
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don´t think that a new release is that far away, check out the new screenies on the blog, looks like nice stuff, and if I´m correct you will also be able to restrict/sandbox certain processes. :)

    http://neoava.blogspot.com/
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. max2
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    1,098
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.