NeededWare

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by R.A. de Hosson, Feb 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Latest SpyBlaster database adds the following (blocking?) keys to the register:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\internet settings\zonemap\domains\neededware.com

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\internet settings\zonemap\domains\neededware.com || *

    And these keys are flagged as Spyware by Spy Sweeper (a very nice program indeed).

    Can I safely remove these keys (and is Spy Sweeper giving a false positive) or is Spyware Blaster wrong??
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    You can safely remove those keys if you wish....but be advised they are valid entries placed in the Restricted Zone of IE by Spywareblaster. This is a case where Spy Sweeper is giving a false positive.
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,018
    Yup - that definitely looks like a false-positive from SpySweeper.

    In this case, removing those keys will not hurt anything, however it will remove the protection for that item.

    If you have a support number/e-mail/address for Webroot, could you please let them know about that false-positive? :)

    Thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  5. Thank you for your answer. I have reported this problem to the people of SpySweeper.


    --René.


    edited to fix quote tag - Detox
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2005
  6. bantry bay

    bantry bay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Hi When I open SpyBlaster I find all but one of the 3379 items are protected
    and the one that keeps unclicking itself when I reboot and that is Neededware
    so maybe Webroot might be right .
     
  7. Geekslug

    Geekslug Guest

    So, false positives, right?
    Good, I was wondering why none of my other 7 scanners picked anything up, and how it got there in the first place...
    The websites I went to before this one said neededware came from visiting the website and active-x controls, but I use firefox, not IE...
     
  8. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    781
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    This false positive was removed in the latest definitions issued by Spy Sweeper.
     
  9. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,018
    Glad to hear it. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  10. CONRAD T. BRODER

    CONRAD T. BRODER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    CHICAGO
    GENTLEMEN; I AM USING SPY SWEEPER Version 3.5.0 (Build 194) Using Spyware Definitions 456 AND STILL GET FALSE POSITIVES AND SPY SWEEPER STILL CLEARS SPYWARE BLASTER'S "NEEDEDWARE" ENTRIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I HAVE JUST EMAILED WEBROOT TO TELL THEM. AM I DOING SOMETHING WRONG? I USE ZONEALARM PRO SUITE, RUN IN TOTAL STEALTH MODE WITH LATEST UPDATES (DO IT EVERY DAY) AND ALSO USE PEST PATROL.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.