NeededWare

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by R.A. de Hosson, Feb 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Latest SpyBlaster database adds the following (blocking?) keys to the register:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\internet settings\zonemap\domains\neededware.com

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\internet settings\zonemap\domains\neededware.com || *

    And these keys are flagged as Spyware by Spy Sweeper (a very nice program indeed).

    Can I safely remove these keys (and is Spy Sweeper giving a false positive) or is Spyware Blaster wrong??
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    You can safely remove those keys if you wish....but be advised they are valid entries placed in the Restricted Zone of IE by Spywareblaster. This is a case where Spy Sweeper is giving a false positive.
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Yup - that definitely looks like a false-positive from SpySweeper.

    In this case, removing those keys will not hurt anything, however it will remove the protection for that item.

    If you have a support number/e-mail/address for Webroot, could you please let them know about that false-positive? :)

    Thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  5. Thank you for your answer. I have reported this problem to the people of SpySweeper.


    --René.


    edited to fix quote tag - Detox
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2005
  6. bantry bay

    bantry bay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Hi When I open SpyBlaster I find all but one of the 3379 items are protected
    and the one that keeps unclicking itself when I reboot and that is Neededware
    so maybe Webroot might be right .
     
  7. Geekslug

    Geekslug Guest

    So, false positives, right?
    Good, I was wondering why none of my other 7 scanners picked anything up, and how it got there in the first place...
    The websites I went to before this one said neededware came from visiting the website and active-x controls, but I use firefox, not IE...
     
  8. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    This false positive was removed in the latest definitions issued by Spy Sweeper.
     
  9. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Glad to hear it. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  10. CONRAD T. BRODER

    CONRAD T. BRODER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    CHICAGO
    GENTLEMEN; I AM USING SPY SWEEPER Version 3.5.0 (Build 194) Using Spyware Definitions 456 AND STILL GET FALSE POSITIVES AND SPY SWEEPER STILL CLEARS SPYWARE BLASTER'S "NEEDEDWARE" ENTRIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I HAVE JUST EMAILED WEBROOT TO TELL THEM. AM I DOING SOMETHING WRONG? I USE ZONEALARM PRO SUITE, RUN IN TOTAL STEALTH MODE WITH LATEST UPDATES (DO IT EVERY DAY) AND ALSO USE PEST PATROL.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.