Need to stop RVS via command prompt

Discussion in 'Returnil releases' started by mistcast, Jul 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mistcast

    mistcast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Hi can anyone tell me how to do the above...

    Just installed a new motherboard (cause the last one got fried) so windows wont boot and the repair doesnt take hold... any ideas?

    Or any other way is appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hello mistcast and welcome to the forums :)

    Can you take me through exactly what you are seeing here and the steps to reproduce this? From what I can tell by your question, you have a fried MB which you replaced and now the computer does not boot or are you saying something different?

    Mike
     
  3. mistcast

    mistcast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the fast respond Mike.

    Yes. my computer wont boot after i replaced my mobo (another type). Win7 tries to "repair" the system but after a few minutes it just notifies me that they cannot automatically repair the system. then the process repeats itself.

    Actually i am not even sure if it is RVS doing it... but im just trying all my options.

    I am thinking I can go to C:\ and change something to disable RVS to give win7 a chance to install the drivers for the new mobo. then re-enable it afterwards. RVS setting is VIRTUAL MODE ALWAYS ON every time you restart.


    Thanks again
     
  4. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Do you get an error message when this happens? If yes, what is the exact text?
     
  5. mistcast

    mistcast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Windows failed to start.

    Choice:
    1. Lauch Start-up repair
    2. Normally Launch Windows - Does nothing and reboots which brings me back to these choices

    Choose number 1

    Startup Repair cannot repair this computer automatically

    Problem Signature
    Problem Event Name: StartupRepaitOffline
    Problem Signature 01: 6.1.7600.16385
    Problem Signature 02: 6.1.7600.16385
    Problem Signature 03: unknown
    Problem Signature 04: 21200506
    Problem Signature 05: AutoFailOver
    Problem Signature 06: 5
    Problem Signature 07: NoRootCause
    Os Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale Id: 1033
     
  6. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    From a quick search it appears this might be a driver related issue. As you have replaced the MB, but the software/drivers you have are from a working version of Windows prior to the MB upgrade/replacement, you might be butting heads with a potential driver incompatibility issue:

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com...l/thread/4f68249f-0075-472e-94c5-4c0d3d690a89

    Check the MB manufacturer's website as well as the websites for your other hardware components to see if you need to update them based on the new MB.

    Let me know if this was useful or helpful here...

    Mike
     
  7. mistcast

    mistcast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Yes I think it is a driver issue...

    and i am wondering if RVS is not allowing the new drivers to be installed. (is this even possible) any what is why i am asking if there is a way to stop rvs on the next reboot via command prompt (on a safe boot/dos mode without anything loaded)

    Thanks
     
  8. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Did you have the Virtual Mode active when your MB went down? If yes, are you able to boot into Safe Mode as opposed to normal Windows?
     
  9. mistcast

    mistcast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Yes it was active. No i cant boot into Safe Mode and normal Windows.

    I get a command prompt after the failed Startup Repair.
     
  10. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,
    See your PM and let me know if this is possible from your end. There is no way to disable the VM via prompt in the way you suggest.

    The instructions I sent in the PM will most likely result in a damaged RSS install, but should terminate any potential issues with the VM being active at Windows start. When you get back into Windows, you can do a repair install and get your copy working again...

    Let me know
    Mike
     
  11. mistcast

    mistcast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Will try what you sent... Thanks a lot ;)

    More power to you!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.