need the MRU Logo!

Discussion in 'MRU Blaster Forum' started by keystagegolf, Feb 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. keystagegolf

    keystagegolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Hi, I've just downloaded the MRU Blaster but didn't ask for a logo on the desktop. I've created a shortcut from the file in C:programs but it's simply a blank monitor screen. Where can I import the Octagonal logo from? There isn't one in the programs file.Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I'm not sure what logo you speak of :doubt:

    Very true....it simply defaults to one of the icons contained in MS shell32.dll
     

    Attached Files:

  3. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Methinks he means the snazzy taskbar logo. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Ah hah....I see them there 8 sides now :eek: :D
     
  5. keystagegolf

    keystagegolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Yes it's the Black 8 sided octogon that I want to put on the desktop to open the`program. The same logo by the clock only brings up the settings. Can I find it anywhere??
     
  6. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    I've been thinking about replacing that boring old MSDOS type logo for the real thing for years. Your thread reminded me and inspired me to do something about it, so i have !

    I've made an icon and enhanced it, then a shortcut and then replaced that with this. It's for mrublaster v1.05.0009. Place it on your desktop and windows should either launch it straightaway, or ask you to locate the program, which will be easy.

    This is what it looks like

    http://img477.imageshack.us/img477/6917/mru7gg.png

    Your Download-Link: snipped - invalid

    Hope you like it, and no charge lol !


    StevieO
     
  7. steveke

    steveke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    90
    Keystagegolf

    I believe that the system tray icon is associated with the "MRU-Blaster Scheduler".

    Going to Start-All Programs-MRU-Blaster-and clicking MRU-Blaster Scheduler brings up the icon on my tray-

    I need new glasses-I did not see it was an octagon-thought it was a circle
     
  8. keystagegolf

    keystagegolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Hi In reply to StevieO, Thanks for your post, I did download from the links but still don't know how to get your new Icon. As I'm a complete newbie can you walk me thro how to get it. Thanks.


    To Steveke, Thanks I can bring up the Icon near the clock but it doesn't open the program, although going thro "Start" does. I'm lazy I want an icon on the desktop!
     
  9. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Hi keystagegolf

    Lazys not good, but an easier life is !

    Unzip the file to your desktop and double click it. Windows should either launch it straightaway, or ask you to locate the program from the drop down box, which will be easy as you just select it from within Program Files/MruBlaster. If for some reason you can't get it to work that way,let me know.


    StevieO
     
  10. steveke

    steveke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    90
    The Blaster scheduler is a different aspect of the program, it auto-runs scans at set intervals-I do not like it.

    At first I thought you had the blank monitor screen shortcut on your desktop and wanted the icon-but from your last post I am not certain if you have it on the desktop.

    I understand you already made a shortcut-but did you drag it onto your desktop out of c:\programs?
     
  11. keystagegolf

    keystagegolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Message for Steveke:
    Hi,
    Yes I do have the blank monitor screen short cut on my desktop and want to replace it with a Logo short cut, is that possible?? I did drag it from C:programs and there is not a logo in there.
     
  12. keystagegolf

    keystagegolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Message for StevieO:
    Hi,
    I did as you suggested, but no sign of a logo anywhere! It unzips OK but just shows a blank monitor screen.
     
  13. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    It's fixed !

    I don't know what happened with the previous icon etc, but i've redone it all over again for you, and i've DL the new one and fully tested it myself and it definately works 100%.

    Your Download-Link: http://rapidshare.de/files/14116828/mru.zip.html

    Unzip the new mru.ico into the Program Files/MruBlaster folder. Right click on mrublaster.exe and select Create Shortcut, this will appear in there. Then Right click on the new shortcut and select Properties, and select Change Icon. Following the on screen prompts to Browse, and go to Program Files/MruBlaster folder and choose the new mru.ico.

    It should look something similar to this

    http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/8692/mruchbr16tb.png

    Then click Apply/OK etc and the shortcut in Program Files/MruBlaster folder will now show the new image. Now you can cut and paste it onto your desktop. Double click on it and it will launch MruBlaster.


    StevieO
     
  14. steveke

    steveke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    90
    Well, I downloaded StevieO's zip in post 13-after scanning it with Ewido & Norton-findng nothing-I followed instructions and now have the working octagon icon on my desktop.

    I also learned about changing icons-which I did not know.

    Thank you StevieO

    No offense meant on the scans-got burnt once long ago-and I wanted to let people know it looks safe.

    Thanks again.
     
  15. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    I'm glad it finally worked !

    Enjoy


    StevieO
     
  16. keystagegolf

    keystagegolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Hi, I've got a follow-up to the topic. Now I've got the logo the product doesn't seem to do the job. After surfing the Internet and building up a list of temporary Internet files I use the MRU blaster to clean them out. It goes through the motions of Scan, Clean Now, cleaning the temporary Internet files,Congratulations BUT when I check the files in Control Panel, Internet Options,General, Settings,View Files, All the internet pages that should have been removed are still there!
    I'm using XP home.

    Is there something I should be doing ??

    Keystagegolf
     
  17. nudexp

    nudexp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Hi ... I'm curious to know why is it like that in the first place ? Why wouldn't it be a MRU B logo in the first place ?
     
  18. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    @ Leonard Chowns

    I have split your post out into a thread of it's own. Please follow the below link.

    This link---> MRU Scheduler ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.