Need Suggestions?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by Gigabyte, Mar 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    Right now I'm running> Panda antivirus,Spysweeper, and Spywareblaster. I would like to add a trojan program.and have been looking at Boclean. Would I be in pretty good shape if I added it to my aresenal? I believe it's better to have something and not need it than need it and not have it!:D Thanks
     
  2. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    BoClean would be a good addition to your security set up since it has an excellent memory scanner. What firewall are you using? I ask this because tightening up a firewall is one of the best to increase security without decreasing performance.

    Alphalutra1
     
  3. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    Panda has one built into the Internet Security.
     
  4. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    I see paypal isn't listed as a payment option.:mad:
     
  5. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    o_O I do see regsoft has paypal,but could I re download if a problem occured?
     
  6. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    Well,I purchased a download and I get invalid username password.:doubt: Have to wait and get a response.
     
  7. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    Just installed it and the resource usage is minimal.:D Well see how it goes.
     
  8. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    I know, but if you tighten up the firewall rules, then your security can increase without adding any extra applications and losing memory, as I described earlier in my other post if you had read more carefully

    Good to see that boclean is working out well.

    Alphalutra1
     
  9. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    I can say that I am very pleased with Boclean. Resource usage is minimal and I hardly know it's there unless I look at the icon.:D I have a question though,If i ever get a warning about something,how will I be notififed?
     
  10. Nancy_McAleavey

    Nancy_McAleavey Expert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    244
    Location:
    Voorheesville, NY, USA
    if you wan tto see what happens when BOClean detects malware, go to http://www.grc.com and grab a copy of LeakTest. It is a harmless malware simulator. When you go to run the file (BOClean is a real-time detection system) you'll see what happens.
     
  11. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    Ok. Now i have some questions. When I first run it, It gets blocked. If I run it again it does not block it? I use panda internet security and I get this when I try to remove the file...Dangerous operation blocked, c:\programs\nsclean\boclean\boc421.exe?
     
  12. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    Pandas true prevent is the culprit. If i turn it off, the file is deleted. Turn it on and I get the pop up.
     
  13. xvietnow2x

    xvietnow2x Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Why are you running all those other spyware programs along w/ Panda? Panda Titanium AND Platinum both have anti-spyware functions PLUS firewalls. You dont' need any other programs... maybe have Ad-Aware Pro and run that about once a week because it does Windows Registry very thorough.
     
  14. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    Today I download a copy of LeakTest and run it, I got a result said "Firewall Penetrate".
    I use Panda Titanium 2006 and BOClean, Why?
     
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    do u have a firewall? because LeakTest is well...a leak test for firewalls. just deny it internet access and u will pass.
     
  16. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Boclean should have caught the leak test and flagged it as malware, so it is odd that you were able to run it. Also, I guess Panda internet security doesn't have outbound protection since it failed this incredibly simple leak test. You may want to upgrade the firewall ;)

    Alphalutra1
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.