Need some answers about Acronis and the backup what I am doing ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by prashanthchou, Jul 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prashanthchou

prashanthchou Registered Member

I am completely new to this ACRONIS software and need some answers:

I wanted to buy this ACRONIS 9.1 enterprise sofware along with the Universal restore option>

This is what I wanted to do , let me know if this product helps me do this:

=============================================

I have a Windows 2003 server which is my Domain controller,Exchange server, symantec management console & my file server.

I wanted to take the complete image of this server on to an external hard drive which is on my network.

And tomorrow if my server crashes or there is fire, then using the image what i have in the external drive i should be able to restore it into another server ( brand new server ).

So how does it work ?

Any help

2. old silas

old silas Registered Member

I am also relatively new to Acronis software. I did buy ATI 9.1. It seems to work for backup/restore ops but I am having lots of truble with ATI Management Console. I can only use MC on the local machine but not on the network. I am a former Ghost 10 user and it worked fine on the network as does Win XP Pro with SP1 and SP2. But ATI 9.1 MC locks up (permanent hour glass) if I try to access a computer via the LAN. Re-boot is then necessary. I can monitor LAN activity when I enter the remote computer name and remote User Name and password but then all activity ceases and I get the lockup. Thus, at present, MC is useless until I can get this resolved.
    I am a retired logic designer and software designer for real time systems and I always designed lockup detection and error detection into my hardware and software. This seems to be missing in this case.

3. prashanthchou

prashanthchou Registered Member