Need Settings Advice

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by redwolfe_98, Sep 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i need some advice about the settings in PG for my antivirus program.. currently, i have my av and boclean both checked to "allow global hooks", and to "access physical memory".. does that sound right?

    what i am concerned about is that my av can still function as it should, particularly in "cleaning"/deleting viruses.. should i remove ie from PG's protection to ensure that my av can delete malware in ie's temp internet files folder?

    dcs, you did a great job with PG3..
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2004
  2. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Learning mode will set it up for you ! choose which global options you want, then in learning mode reboot and the AV monitor will get added. Then just run the updater, and the on demand scanner and they will get added too

    At this stage it would be good to run all your programs which have firewall access, thus adding them to the protection list. Then disable learning mode :)

    From those filenames, I would say add all 3..
     
  3. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Redwolf_98 wrote.
    Go here : http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm
    Download the Eicar test viruses (they are harmless), this will give you confidence that your AV is functioning correctly.

    HTH Pilli
     
  4. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    edited
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2004
  5. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Process Guard should not prevent your AV working as normal.
    Is the byte verifier file being held open by another process?
    If your AV and IE are on the protected list then it should not stop your AV doing anything, although you may need to adjust the "Allows" So watch your alerts log for hints.

    Pilli
     
  6. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    pilli, i am not currently experiencing any problems with an infection, i was just concerned about my av's being able to perform properly while running PG.. i will wait and see how things go..
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2004
  7. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    edited
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.