Need opinions on set up.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Engelhardt, Jun 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Engelhardt

    Engelhardt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Georgia
    I just switched from KIS 6 to NAV 2007. I'm running behind a router. Right now I'm just using NAV and Vista firewall. Should I add a antispyware app to the mix? I read that NAV has asw protection but am not sure this is enough. Opinions or suggestions please.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    add superantispyware free to the mix.
    link in my sig.
    what browser do you use?
    lodore
     
  3. Engelhardt

    Engelhardt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Georgia
    IE7. Been using IE since switching from Netscape years ago. And thank for the SAS suggestion. Thought about that but wasn't sure it was compatible with NAV. Hince the request.
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I am not sure how reliable this is but once I read on PC Mag a reviewer stating that NAV's A/S detection was on par with SpySweeper according to some tests he performed. Norton is pretty much handling my A/S duties. I do have SpySweeper (on-demand only) that was given to me but all it ever finds is a few tracking cookies.

    Here at work we used to run SAV 9.x and I had to help my SysAdmin to clean up workstations of spyware. Ever since we moved up to 10.x we are not having to clean up as much as we used to do. Symantec has stepped up it's malware detection.

    I have ran SAS on my Vista before and didn't notice any problems.
     
  5. Engelhardt

    Engelhardt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Georgia
    Thanks Mitch. Guess I'll run SAS on demand for now.
     
  6. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I would look at using Opera or Firefox as an alternative browser.
    If you want a bare bones browser K-Meleon is a bare bones version of Firefox.

    An on-demand scanner shouldn't cause compatability probs.
     
  7. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    IE7 in Vista is different than XP's as it has a "Protected Mode". Basically this means that IE7 runs with lower privileges than even a standard user. More about PM here.

    I have seen this in action, for example, one 'dark' site tried to install something called "Data Services Data Control" (yeah I wonder who wants to control my data, lol). I refused it of course and went on my merry way.

    However if you disable UAC it also disables Protected Mode.
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I would have kept Kis 6 and used SAS on demand.
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    your setup is fine,

    no you dont need to add anything else.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.