Need help

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by colorado13, Apr 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. colorado13

colorado13 Registered Member

I'm quite a newbie and I'm not really that good with computers eather so I may ask some lame questions... I have a Pentium III 800 mhz and I'm wondering what software I should use that take up little memory and Defend me against viruses, trojans, adware,spyware etc. I am currently using Nod32 as an anti-virus, Zone Alarm for the firewall, TDS for trojans and MS antispyware. Do you think I could find Some that are better and take up less memory? Please HELP! SOS!

2. Firecat

Firecat Registered Member

NOD32 is one of the lightest AV scanners out there, so its best you stick with it.

Unfortunately, I'm not too good at Firewalls and ATs and AntiSpyware, so I'll let one of the security experts help ya there :)

3. BlueZannetti

BlueZannetti Registered Member

How much RAM do you currently have, and what operating system are you running?

The applications you list are solid choices. NOD32 is light on RAM, TDS-3 isn't too bad. Zone Alarm can be somewhat heavy, as for MS antispyware, it depends on whether realtime protection is enabled.

Blue

4. c0ltran3

c0ltran3 Registered Member

You could use

Kerio 2.15 as a firewall and MJ Registry Watcher as real time protection and MS Antyspyware only on demand.

Your programs are good. You won't ever have a total protection any program you use

Last edited: Apr 16, 2005
  5. SDS909

SDS909 Registered Member

use Dr.Web.. Light as you can possible get.. Then throw Safe'n'Sec on to shore up your protections since it really uses no resources at all.

Get a nice hardware firewall like SMC Barricade ($20-30 range), I haven't used a software firewall in 5 years and feel they are pretty useless except for application control. But plenty of apps do application control.

All you need.

6. c0ltran3

c0ltran3 Registered Member

NOD32 is light as Dr Web