Need Help With OSS

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Zetelo, Jan 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zetelo

Zetelo Registered Member

Hello folks, I guess you've all heard about the tempting offer Agnitum is making and I'm one of those who couldn't resist. So, I bought the OSS and received the key today.

I must say that I'm a total newbie when it comes to firewalls, I'm more of an antivirus guy. So I'm kind of sitting infront of the screen staring at the interface and don't know what to do to make it more comfortable and most importantly secure for me!

Are there any experts out there who are willing to share some useful information on how to SET UP this suite propely so I can make maximum power out of it? What values should be set and what should be deactivated/activated?

Something like a small guide would be highly appreciated ;)

Happy NEW year guys, hope 2009 won't hit you badly and may your antivirus and firewalls protect you from any kind of threats!

2. Minimax2000

Minimax2000 Registered Member

Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
  3. Minimax2000

ImproveNet is a nice feature of OSS which provides rule sets based on community behavior and supervised by Agnitum engineers. These rule sets are automatically updated. So you do not have to create rules for common applications yourself.

http://www.agnitum.com/support/improvenet/technical.php

4. osip

osip Registered Member

Minimax2000:s links for rule sets is great...If you, however, want a more simple method you can let the "rule wizard" be on for a week or so, adjust your existing apps network access acc. to your wish in application settings (what you allow/not allow to connect)...Then after a week change the "rules wizard" to " block most" ( tray icon goes from blue to green...)
    In most cases I think this will be enough...

5. Zetelo

Zetelo Registered Member

Thanks alot Minimax!