Need Help with Firewall Settings Please

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by kleines_d, Nov 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kleines_d

    kleines_d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi all,

    i'm using the german eset smart security 4.0.424.0. All Firewall settings are in standard mode at the moment. i need to configure a rule for the d-link shareport 1.1159 software. i dont know how to do it? Of course i read the manual, but i'm not very familar with all the settings. It would be very kind, if someone could help me please. Belwow you see the settings which i have to set in the firewall to use the d-link shareport utillity.

    firewall.jpg

    thx for your help and greetings from germany
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Perhaps switching the firewall to learning mode so that all necessary rules are created automatically would be the easiet solution.
     
  3. kleines_d

    kleines_d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    thx for your reply. I configured the settings with the learning mode. i can use the usb printer on my router now. but the pop up window from my first post opens again. can you please check if all settings are correct and safe? The learning mode saved 4 rules:

    1.
    settings001.jpg
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    2.
    settings002.jpg
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    3.
    settings003.jpg
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    4.
    settings004.jpg

    thx a lot

    d
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    With learning mode enabled, you shouldn't be prompted for an action if an undefined communication is detected. Leave learning mode enabled for a while so that all necessary rules are created. By default, learning mode is used for 14 days, but you can shorten the learning period to 2-3 days which should be enough.
     
  5. kleines_d

    kleines_d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    hi,

    ok thx very much. i will try that ;)

    greets

    d
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.