Need help with cloning process

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Megiae, Nov 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Megiae

    Megiae Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hello!


    I have a problem with cloning process that I need assistence with. I currently have 80GB PATA drive installed on primary controller that I would like to replace with SATA drive. When I finished with cloning process I disconnected my PATA drive and defined SATA drive as boot drive in BIOS. I got to the OS selection screen (i have XP and 2003 installed) but whatever I choose it fails to boot with NTLDR corrupt message. I tried cloning my drive to my friends PATA drive and it worked perfectly, but it is not an option at this moment. Any ideas on how to solve this issue using my SATA drive?


    Thanks!
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    You actually have to disconnect the old boot drive otherwise windows will get confused. Look here for an explanation http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/partsigs.htm
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Megiae,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that Brian K is right and the reason for this issue is lack of SATA drivers in Windows XP. You could take a look at this article describing the procedure for transferring your operating system from IDE to SATA hard drives.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.