Need Help With Automatic Updates!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mismis29, Sep 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I am running Windows Xp Professional on a stand-alone home computer (Service Pack 1).

    It seems that I am no longer able to configure Automatic updates to my personal preferences. When I click on 'Automatic Updates' in my 'System' through the "Control Panel", everything is greyed and I am not able to select the "Notify me when...."option. There is a green check mark next to 'Automatic (recommended)', however, there is no 'dot' to indicate that this option is selected. Also, under the option "Turn off Automatic Updates", there is a red 'X' but there is a 'dot' to indicate that this option is selected.

    I have been able to set my own preferences for automatic updates ever since I had my computer, but today I checked to see that everything was normal concerning the updates and found this problem. I can't recall doing anything that would affect this. Why am I not able configure Automatic Updates' anymore?? o_O Please help!

    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
  3. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Thanx for the quick reply :)

    I know it is, but up to today, it hasn't been a problem. I don't think I should have to install sp2 to rectify the problem. What if someone doesn't want sp2 at all? Shouldn't any settings that one makes to their system remain even if they don't decide to upgrade? I should still be able to access these options.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you go to the link and see if it offers to reinstall?

    You are right in that you probably don't have to install sp2.
     
  5. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I followed the link and it suggests that I install sp2 ( since I have not yet done so). However, I don't want to at the moment.

    BTW, my 'Windows Update' used to look like this (check below), but today it looks like the previous image I posted. It's strange that it has changed. I would much rather be able to configure it myself, if you know what I mean ;) How can I get it back to this?? o_O
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Does it offer to turn on automatic updates without installing sp2?
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    You are the administrator of the computer, right? You are not in the "user" mode?
     
  8. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    It offers to turn on automatic updates for me. When I proceed with the option to let Microsoft do it, I am asked to install something called "Windows Security Advisor". I don't know what this is, but I really don't want updates installed unless I know what they are first. I'd rather choose to download or not.

    If this "Security Advisor" the actual windows update option that was previously accessible to me, then why did I lose it in the first place?

    I'm sorry if I'm a little ignorant concerning these things. I just get a little panicked when things that were previously working fine are suddenly not working, knowing that I haven't done anything to change them :doubt:

    Thanx for your help :)
     
  9. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Yes I am. I can either log on as "Computer Administrator" or "Administrator".
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    The windows update screenshot remains the same no matter which way you log in?

    I understand what you are saying about installing unknown programs. It is irritating putting up with all that stuff when all you want to do is update windows.

    You could try running scandisk on a reboot and see if that helps.

    I really don't why things break for no apparent reason in Windows.
     
  11. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Could it be that Darling Bill has moved the Goal-posts with SP2 so that no up-dates can be obtained without installing the 'Devil incarnate' :D.....anybody else finding this prob?.....mismis doesn't appear to have had this befre so why now all of a sudden?.....I can't be too knowledgeable on this because I have never D/Ld an update ever.....aren't I naughty.. :D ;)


    Cochise, :cool:
     
  12. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ronjor - yes, the screen remains the same no matter which account I use to log on. I did perform a scandisk on reboot, and everything 'seems' to be normal. Perhaps I accidently did something to cause this problem, but I don't see what I could have possibly done.

    cochise - Who knows, you may be right! Perhaps Microsoft secretly locked me out of "windows update' so I am forced to downloaded sp2! You never know. LOL
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Good to hear it's working.
     
  14. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Ronjor - The scandisk showed that there was nothing wrong with my computer, but my problem still remains :(
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    I used version five of windows update before sp2 came out. It was a beta.

    You can do a search for wuweb.dll and rename it wuweb.dll.old and go to the windows update site and see if it will reinstall for you.
     
  16. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Do you mean re-install the actual automatic windows update option on windows xp? If it doesn't work, then what would that mean concerning the updates? What I mean is, if I can't fix the problem, then are the updates automatically downloaded and installed?

    P.S. In one of my previous posts, I mentioned that I was prompted to download the "Windows Security Advisor". Would happen to know what that is?

    Thanx so much for your time and patience. I really appreciate all of your help.
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Window Security Advisor scans your system and suggests what you need to protect your computer.

    We all know what that is. :)

    If you will search for the .dll I mentioned and rename it and try win update again, it should reinstall the update program.

    Be sure to show hidden files in folder options before searching.

    Also, try system restore and go back to yesterday or day before.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 11, 2004
  18. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    It all sounmds very sneaky to me mismis love....Beware the Judder-man :D


    Cochise, :cool:
     
  19. TheSnowGuy

    TheSnowGuy Guest

    http://www.autopatcher.com/



    Perhaps worth reading.......I've never used this.....cause I wont use XP........so whatever you decided...its at your own risk........
     
  20. TheSnowGuy

    TheSnowGuy Guest

    "So, if you haven't heard, the newest APXP release is out. It's for those of you not wanting to upgrade to SP2 (turns out there's a lot of you out there"


    Clip from above posted website......



    By the way....this is "donate-ware"....no actual fee
     
  21. TheSnowGuy

    TheSnowGuy Guest

    WARNING....to newbees and in-experience users


    Please do not play around with "UN-OFFICIAL SOFTWARE"
    leave such things to the experts and highly experience to test.....they in turn will advise its worthyness or lack thereof.
     
  22. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Ronjor - When I rename the .dll and go to windows update, I receve a message asking if I want to install and run "Windows Update". Is that what you mean? DO you think that will solve my problem?

    Thanx a bunch :)
     
  23. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas

    I don't know if it will solve your problem. It is worth a try.

    Or you could leave that .dll file named old as is and try to get v4 of windows update.

    Anytime you get graphics that are grayed out, a file is missing or corrupted.


    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp

    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/


    You might want to look at this forum and see what others are doing also.


    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/microsoft
     
  24. mismis29

    mismis29 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Hi Ronjor,

    Thanx for the links. I posted my question in the forum that you suggested. Hopefully someone will have a suggestion.

    As for the other two links you provided, when I click on them, I am automatically brought to the v5 page instead of the v4 page-very strange.

    Anyway, thanx for your help; I greatly appreciate it. If you think of anything else, I would be happy to hear it.

    Thanx again :)
     
  25. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    mismis29,

    I guess I'm stumped.

    I know how you feel about sp2. A lot of people feel that way.

    That is a strange problem you have there.

    Let us know what the cure is when you find it so we can stow it in the memory banks. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.