need help to choose a good free imaging app.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by taleblou, Jan 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taleblou

taleblou Registered Member

Hi:

After thinking I have decided to use a imaging software to make an image of my HD and to uninstall comodo time machine. Since I am new at this, can anyone please suggest a FREE easy simple good and trustworthy imaging software to me? I want to make an image of my pc to fall-back on it when the need rises.

Thanks in advance.

2. Krysis

Krysis Registered Member

Hi Taleblou! Recommend Macrium Reflect, Easeus Todo and Paragon Backup & Recovery (I think you still need to register for Paragon) - all 3 allow you to create a simple bootCD to restore an image should Windows become unbootable! These 3 are among the most reliable 3rd party free imaging programs available. Plus, don't forget Windows own imaging software - It's already on your system - ready to go - and probably the most reliable of the lot! ;)

3. taleblou

taleblou Registered Member

thanks. I heard of windows own imaging, but is it as good as as others? I mean in imaging a full image incl. everything on HD and also 3rd party programs on my pc?

What I want is a simple imaging software that when needed just use a few click and all is back to the same way it is?

At one time I tried kriver-1 restore free but it screwed my win. and had to reformat.

4. Cruise

Cruise Registered Member

Hi taleblou,

Imho Win7's disk image backup suffers because of (at least) two major limitations:
    1. There is no provision for validating the backup image! :thumbd:
    2. There is no compression, so the resulting file is large! :thumbd: