Need help getting rid of boot password

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by allizomeniz, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    I was working on some stuff in Setup yesterday and accidentally set a password I don't really want. I was in the Setup options by pressing F2 at startup, and the Security tab. Now, when I start the computer a small dialog opens that says "Enter Current Password:" It's not a user login, but some kind of boot login, the background of the screen is entirely black and there's only the small dialog mentioned above. I know the password and can log in, but it wasn't there before and I wish I could get rid of it. I went back into Setup to see if I could change it back but I'm not having any luck. Would anyone know what this is and how to get rid of it? Thanks.
     
  2. kantry123

    kantry123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    22
    SHOW us a screenshot then only we can assist You
    regards
     
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    If you can go to the BIOS (or UEFI?) setup, try to return to the default configuration, save the change and reboot.
     
  4. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    I don't know how to create a screenshot because the screen comes up before anything else is loaded.

    Robin, it's a Toshiba L305 laptop with Vista. I've tried getting into BIOS by pressing Esc after pressing the power button but it never worked. A screen with text on it flashes then disappears. It does it whether I let go of Esc or keep holding it. I took some covers off the back looking for the CMOS battery but it's not there. Took the keyboard out and it's not there either. That's about as far as I'm comfortable going.

    Do you know of another way to reset BIOS?
     
  5. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,764
    Location:
    Mexico
    Unfortunately RTC battery is on the motherboard just between the plastic cover underneath keyboard and the other side of the motherboard. You need to remove the motherboard to access the battery.

    Maybe this helps a bit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Y5ljZlblzs
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 21, 2015
  6. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    UK
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,279
  8. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    I finally got. I found a YouTube video that demonstrated the jumper method used in clubhouse1's link. It was a major pita. Remind me to never do that again. lol
     
  9. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,764
    Location:
    Mexico
    Good to know. Could you post Youtube link please?
     
  10. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    Here's the one I used. Mine's a Satellite L305. He uses a different model in the video but it worked on mine.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TbXW6-PngZk
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 21, 2015
  11. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    UK
    Glad you've got it fixed.
     
Loading...