Need final removal of CWS (HSA+SE+SW) using object protected in c: and d:\recycler

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by Bill Baynton, Jul 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bill Baynton

Bill Baynton Registered Member

Hi, I'm new to this or any forum. I'm registered and hope this is the correct procedure. I just saw your following, which sounds much like my experience.

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?goto=lastpost&t=39754

I've been at this since July 14, getting to bed at 10:00 am one time and going 48 hours this weekend. I'm not a computer whiz, but have learned from the web , advice from known geeks and experience.

I use Netscape from XP Pro, but am forced to use IE on some pages for download or other compatability not satisfied by Netscape. My reboots were taking increasingly longer, and then I began to get popups on IE only.

I could use any assistance in removing what appears to be a linked bug, resident in c: and d:\recycler that resists removal, I'm assuming because it's linked to a system file that's always running?

I have had this CWS bug - HSA=Home Search Assistant + SE=Search Assistant + SW=Shopping Wizard. At the least, I've had both the Db variant FC327B3F-377B-4CB7-8B61-27CD69816BC3 and the WUInst variant E2F2BDO-96B9-4B25-B90C-636ECB207D18 (since I removed them from the register). The way this thing works is to combat removal of its exe, dll or dat files with the production of a next set (even when removed from safe mode). The exe (and I think dll) appear in both c:\windows and c:\windows\system32. The dat are only in one of these.