need an advise:)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jmonge, Mar 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i need a free light,strong firewall with hips that doesnt slow my pc at anytime,thanks;)
     
  2. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    malware defender is a firewall right, not happy with their FW?....i guess you're using it right now since it is on your siggy.
     
  3. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe http://www.ghostsecurity.com/ghostwall/ in bound protection only, no support and you would probably need to tweak it for maximum protection/speed.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ah?oh it is for another pc and i dont want to buy any firewall at this moment;) ,i wasnt to clear about it:D
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i was thinking about the windows vista firewall control:)never used it, any advise?thanks
     
  6. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    I've been running windows vista firewall control for over a year. Nothing wrong with it, simple firewall that's it.

    Defaults to 'disable all', so if there is an attempt to connect outbound, and you make a mistake and don't see the popup/alert (and hit enter), the connection is blocked.

    No HIPS though. But you might not need it given the other programs you use.

    Run it with prevx edge (monitor program behaviour), you could add avast if you want website alerts, sandboxie for your browsing, and you'll be flying.

    Almost zero system impact. If you want HIPS, go with the two best free firewalls, Online Armor or Comodo.
     
  7. AndyXS

    AndyXS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Comodo D+ ?
     
  8. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    One note, if you use vista firewall control, set all your browsers to 'outgoing only'. Programs like sandboxie, prevx/AV should be set to 'enable all'.
     
  9. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    GeSWall free
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thanks
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    is it good for vista?
     
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Version 2.8.3 should be okay as long as you run LUA in quiet mode and add Norton UAC tool to compensate for it (also more user friendly), see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1434356&postcount=4411. Install GW with UAC off.

    When using Norton UAC you can skip Spyware Terminator.

    When you want to be notified when an program chooses outbound, install Vista FW control free and set Network to confidential in resources in stead of limited for trusted (I made it absolutely quiet, using the unfriendy option of GW that it does not ask with restrict for limited set for network).
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2009
  13. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    There is a new Online Armor RC available here. I installed it this morning and it runs much lighter than previous versions of OA. Definitely worth trying.
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    what about Geswall free+spyware terminator+UAC off?
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    does geswall free has outbound protection?thanks
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    hi,what is online armor rc?thanks
     
  17. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Sorry...it is their latest release candidate. It was just released for public beta today. I think they are very close to formal release.
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ah,i see :) are they still using the run safer option cause i love that idea;) to run IE runsafer:) thanks
     
  19. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yes, run safer is still an option in both the free and paid versions.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i think this is a must keep:)i will give this a try in the vista laptop;) is it compatible with vista 32 bit?thanks again:) do you know if they fixed the start up delay problem?
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    what do they mean by OA Free Logging version or just OA Free?thanks
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i am thinking of running Online armor beta and Defensewall/and malwarebytes pro,i hope i dont get any conflicts:D or slow down
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    what do you guys think?Defensewall+online armor+malwarebytes pro,is this fine any advise on this set up?kees advised me GesWall but i got Defensewall active so it will not be a good idea to have geswall and defensewall at same time:)
     
  24. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    I use OA and DW without any problems.
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    are you usuing a beta or regular realease? do you noticed any start up slow down?thanks
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. koliko
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    1,068
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.